Unlike what we’re used to seeing, Blue Apron is not your standard meal delivery service. They deliver only fresh, seasonal ingredients along with easy-to-follow recipes created by culinary experts. While not exactly new, it’s one of the meal delivery services that have been skyrocketing in popularity lately. If you want to make a home-cooked meal without the hassle of picking up groceries at the store and planning out the recipe by yourself, Blue Apron will provide you with exactly what you need. Read our Blue Apron review and see what they’ve got in store.

blue apron homepage

How Blue Apron Works

The whole process is really simple: pick out your plan (they offer a 2-person and family option), choose your recipes and wait for the box with all the ingredients to be delivered to your doorstep.

When everything arrives, just follow the instructions from their interactive recipes page and you’ll feel like a professional chef in no time. You’ll get all the details you need along with the ingredients – carefully portioned so you never have to work with too much or too little. From the exact kitchen utensils, pots and pans you need to use to the proper way to prepare each of your ingredients, everything will be covered in the interactive instructions. Blue Apron even has a nice selection of how to videos that can show you what to do if you’re feeling stumped.

If you don’t have proper cooking utensils and/or dishes, you can order some from the Blue Apron website. The market page offers a selection of high-quality cooking gear that you can use to prepare their (and other) meals. In addition, if you don’t want to bother with choosing and then buying a wine to go with your meal, you can subscribe to their monthly wine delivery plan and have a box of finely selected wines delivered to you every month.

What Makes Blue Apron Different?

What makes this service stand out from countless others is their focus on, among other things, responsible food growing practices. Blue Apron is very selective when it comes to partnering with suppliers. They only work with fisheries which source sustainable seafood. They also partner very closely with farmers so that they are able to get all the fruits and vegetables when they are at the peak of freshness, which also allows Blue Apron to set a lower price than most grocery stores. The meat comes from animals grown on antibiotic-free and hormone-free diets, to ensure the best possible taste.

Why is this important? Well, specific deals with suppliers should make sure everybody benefits from the deal. The farmers have a guaranteed buyer, Blue Apron has a steady supply of produce, and the customers get high-quality ingredients to cook with.

Another part of the Blue Apron mission is to combat food waste and unsustainable food growing systems. Fruit and vegetables are grown with minimum pesticides use and using regenerative soil practices, allowing the land to remain healthy in the future.

blue apron food growing system

Every recipe has a wine (or even wines) that their expert chefs say goes well with it. If you don’t feel like picking out your own wine or just don’t want to go shopping for anything, Blue Apron has you covered there, too. By signing up for their monthly program, you get a nice box with six 500 ml bottles of wine – three reds and three whites – along with a story behind each wine, some tasting notes and pairing tips. The bottles may be too small for some people’s taste but the people behind the service claim it’s perfect for two people.


Meals And Recipes

Blue Apron does their best to bring variety to your menu. They offer you a choice between the 2-person menu and the family plan, which serves 4 people. With the 2-person plan, you can select 3 recipes out of 6 each week whereas you get to choose 2 or 4 recipes if you opt for the family plan.

blue apron 2 person

In addition, before checkout, you can also customize your dietary preference. There are 7 options you can select or rule out: beef, poultry, pork, lamb, fish, shellfish, or none of those if you are a vegetarian. The recipes you receive will be based on your dining preferences, which you can change at any point if you like. Each of their recipes is cooked only once a year.

In your package, you’ll receive all the needed ingredients in pre-portioned amounts, along with step-by-step recipe cards to guide you through the cooking process.

Blue Apron takes care to inform you about the details of your ingredients, so nutritional and calorie labels are provided with each order. On them, you’ll find information that might be important, such as possible allergens, sugars, and fat, alongside the nutrients and daily values. These values might vary only slightly depending on other ingredients you may add during cooking, such as oil.

blue apron family plan

If you happen to be vegetarian, there’s no need to worry. Blue Apron always has vegetarian options among its weekly recipes, so you’ll never have to feel left out.

If you’re interested in cooking something not currently on the menu, though, you can check out Blue Apron’s cookbook on their website, which features all the recipes that were on offer so far. You’re free to browse through them and prepare one of the meals on your own if you wish.

Another interesting option that Blue Apron provides its customers is wine delivery. If you decide to order wines to go with your food, you’ll receive 6 wine bottles per month, 500 ml each – just about enough for two people. They are selected by Blue Apron’s expert chefs to match the recipes you’ll be cooking that month, so you don’t have to bother with going to the liquor store and dwelling on which wine to pick for your dinner.

blue apron wines

Pricing

What would this Blue Apron review be without looking into this delivery service’s pricing plans? Should you decide to subscribe to Blue Apron, you will first be asked to choose a plan. With the 2 person plan, the price of one serving is $9.99, however, instead of paying $59.94, you will receive a discount for your first week and it will cost only $29.94.

Should you decide to go with the family plan, the price of a single serving is $8.74, but just as with the 2 person plan, you will receive a discount for your first week. This means that 2 recipes per week will cost you $39.92 instead of $69.92, and $109.84 instead of $139.84 for 4 recipes.

blue apron pricing

Delivery Areas

Blue Apron delivers your meal ingredients to most places inside the US. The delivery area is nationwide, so no matter where you are, Blue Apron will be able to reach you. They have a list of places where they deliver to, so you can also double check delivery areas on their website. You’ll be happy to learn that delivery is always free!

Pros
  • A lot of choice in creating your menu.
  • Menus are designed according to your personal preferences.
  • Easy to follow instructions for all recipes.
  • There is an option to have wines delivered with your recipes.
  • Special menus for vegetarians are available with the 2 person plans.
  • Only fresh, organic fruits and vegetables.
  • Meat free of hormones and antibiotics.
  • Nationwide coverage.

Cons

  • No vegetarian option in family plan.

Sample Dishes

Bottom Line

While doing research for our Blue Apron review, we were pleasantly surprised to see so many interesting recipes and wine combinations. They’ve certainly done an excellent job of enabling you to tune the recipe offers to your personal dining preferences. Not only can you select different plans, you can also choose which meat combinations you’d like, as well as a vegetarian diet in case you’re not much of a meat lover. Their delivery area coverage is terrific, covering almost all US places no matter what state you’re in.


Blue Apron Rating

Our ratings are the result of an objective and independent evaluation of Blue Apron, generating the final rating that reflects the overall quality of the company. Ratings may change as the service changes.

Meal Options
Variety
Nutritional Value
Portion Size
Flexibility
Price
Final Rating 9.5/10

User Reviews (33)

    Blue Apron user rating based on 33 user reviews.

    The reviews listed below reflect the opinions and experiences of real users and are in no way influenced by the meal delivery companies. Before publishing each review, our team checks whether it was submitted by an actual user in an effort to prevent false or spammy reviews.

  • Submitted By Laura Cain on 08/21/2017
    Really good food, but getting a bit repetitive. I get that they focus on seasonal produce, but enough with the squash.
  • Submitted By Sebastian Gill, on 08/14/2017
    I’m glad to see that BA is making progress about special diets, but we do need more vegetarian options.
  • Submitted By Ashley Burton on 08/06/2017
    I’m staying with Blue Apron forever! They’re great, food’s great, and I especially love the option to order wine that matches your dinner. I’ve learned so much about wine-food pairing and I had no clue how to do it in before I started ordering from Blue Apron. Thanks!
  • Submitted By Fabio Gutierrez, on 08/01/2017
    My family really loves Blue Apron. We’re a big gang of 7 people and everyone has a bit different taste and some special requirements when it comes to food. Luckily, Blue Apron can cover them all. And, what’s most important, we’re absolutely assured that our kids are eating organic.
  • Submitted By Betty Dunn on 07/28/2017
    I was surprised how fresh the ingredients were and how easy preparing the meals was! My husband and I were looking for a way to have home cooked meals without having to look for recipes and ingredients ourselves, since we didn't have much spare time. I think we really made the right choice with Blue Apron!
  • Submitted By Peter Hike on 07/17/2017
    Blue Apron does deliver high quality and fresh ingredients, but I was disappointed that their family plan doesn't have a vegetarian option. Unlike my children and I, my wife is a vegetarian and we had to order separately for her, which wasn't very practical. They could really improve on this issue.
  • Submitted By Rebecca Wayne on 07/15/2017
    Even though I live alone and only cook for myself, Blue Apron's 2 person plan was perfect for me because there was always leftover food which I could put in the fridge to save for another meal. The recipes are delicious and all the vegetables and meat are much more fresh than what I see in the grocery stores!
  • Submitted By Melanie White on 07/07/2017
    I really like recipes from Blue Apron, but my children are a bit picky, so it’s not easy to find something they like. It would be much better if family plan had more dishes on the menu.
  • Submitted By Layla Reynolds on 07/01/2017
    I love it! I work a lot and have no time to go to the store or cook for 3 hours. 2-person plan is just what I need, cook once, eat twice, all at home and in less than an hour.
  • Submitted By Jessie Cramer on 06/29/2017
    The interactive recipes are awesome! I never imagined cooking could be so much fun!
  • Submitted By Steven Gallagher on 06/20/2017
    My mom made me order from Blue Apron and it wasn’t that bad. I kinda feel like a real cook these days haha
  • Submitted By Joe Short on 06/16/2017
    There’s too many work to be done. I expected prepared meals to be delivered to my door, not that I’ll have to cook for hours myself! If I wanted to cook, I certainly wouldn’t waste my money on a meal delivery.
  • Submitted By Melisa Wiggins on 06/10/2017
    I dreaded cooking for most of my life but grew to actually love it with BlueApron. The interactive instructions have certainly helped because I always felt as if something was missing in other recipes. Here you even have a list of kitchen utensils you need to prepare a meal. It’s so well-explained and easy.
  • Submitted By Peter Mcclain on 06/03/2017
    I have to be honest here, I choose Blue Apron just because of the wines. If you’re a wine enthusiast, this is the company for you!
  • Submitted By Keith Elizabeth on 05/26/2017
    Great service, but it could be cheaper.
  • Submitted By Meyers Anne on 05/26/2017
    No vegetarian option with the Family plan? This just su*ks.
  • Submitted By Tina D. on 05/06/2017
    Blue Apron is the best meal delivery, guaranteed! I love their wines as well.
  • Submitted By Cooper Garrison on 04/16/2017
    Blue apron’s meals are delicious, there’s no arguing there, but I just think it’s too expensive.
  • Submitted By Samantha Larsen on 04/04/2017
    The variety is spectacular! Blue Apron is the best!
  • Submitted By Carrie Hoover on 03/25/2017
    I don’t know why everyone’s so infatuated with Blue Apron. It’s an ok service but the meals are completely tasteless. My kids don’t like it.
  • Submitted By Beth Johnson on 03/20/2017
    I’m a stay at home mom of 4, so blue apron really helps me keep my sanity. The meals are good but my kids don’t always like them. I guess nothing can be perfect, right?
  • Submitted By Cameron Meyers on 03/03/2017
    I’m a sucker for everything Blue Apron. I order the food and the wine and I even bought some kitchen utensils. They are so good, I just can’t help myself
  • Submitted By Cynthia Vincent on 03/04/2017
    I used to order food from Sun Basket and then from Hello Fresh and I can tell you these two companies are nowhere near Blue Apron. The quality is just unbelievable for a meal delivery.
  • Submitted By Brooke Harrell on 02/27/2017
    It’s high time they offered more meals for vegetarians. I just cant believe that such a famous company would allow itself not to expand its meat-free offer.
  • Submitted By Andrea Lester on 02/09/2017
    blue apron’s meals are not as delicious as everyone says. as a matter of fact, they are pretty bland.
  • Submitted By Cathie Dorsey on 01/16/2017
    Ive been cooking for most of my adult life, over 30 years now. It just gets boring over time. So I tried blue apron and I am impressed. I already know how to cook so I don’t need help in that department but the recipes have awoken my love for cooking. I remembered how much fun cooking can actually be, when youre experimenting with ingredients and trying out new meals. Id honestly recommend blue apron not just to new cooks but to experienced ones like myself who need a bit of inspiration to keep doing what they know and love.
  • Submitted By Maggie P. on 12/19/2016
    The wines are out of this world but I do wish you could order more. Six just isn’t enough, especially if you often have guests over.
  • Submitted By Charlotte Pruitt on 11/16/2016
    I like that you can customize your plan to fit your dietary needs. I’ve been a customer for two years now and was only disappointed in the dishes once or twice. That’s great service in my book.
  • Submitted By Denise Atkinson on 11/04/2016
    Thank god for blue apron! I’m a single dad and need all the help I can get. My kids (8 and 11 years) love the meals and I know I’m doing good by feeding them healthy food. The only problem, at least for me, is that I sometimes spend more than an hour in the kitchen so it’ doesn’t really save me a lot of time.
  • Submitted By Andrea Glass on 09/13/2016
    I ordered just once but it was amazing. I enjoyed cooking so much that I’m considering enrolling in a cooking class.
  • Submitted By Anna Wilkinson on 09/06/2016
    I love blue apron, it’s so simple and convenient, cooking almost doesn’t feel like a chore anymore.
  • Submitted By Deborah Henson on 08/22/2016
    After reading all the positive reviews online, I expected I’d become a pro chef and cook restaurant-grade meals. Well, that didn’t happen. What did happen, however, some of the ingredients were deteriorating and the dishes were tasteless. I’m not ordering again, that’s for sure.
  • Submitted By Maria Knox on 06/15/2016
    The Family plan is really good and I don’t think it’s expensive either. Plus, your kids get to eat high quality food they love. Aint much better than that!
  • Show More Reviews ...

Compare

If you like Blue Apron but aren’t sure whether they are truly the ideal choice for you, you may want to take a look at our comparisons below to discover if one of their competitors is more suitable for you.

Want to find out even more about Blue Apron?

Our Blue Apron resources can provide you with in-depth information about the inner workings of this popular meal delivery service. In our blogs, you can explore the intricacies of this innovative food delivery company, including

  • What is Blue Apron, where you can learn more about both the benefits of meal delivery services and the inner workings of this famous company;
  • Blue Apron Menu, which focuses on both the variety and the quality of the meals featured on the company’s menu;
  • Blue Apron recipes, which can give you a better idea of what is included in their offer;
  • Blue Apron vegetarian recipes, which lets you peek into the Blue Apron cookbook and discover the wealth of amazing vegetarian recipes hiding inside;
  • Blue Apron pricing, offering an insight into the cost of meals and meal plans;
  • Blue Apron recycling program, which provides you with the details of this program and information on how you can help save the planet;
  • Blue Apron’s very first ranch, which features the story of how Blue Apron bought BN Ranch and how it will improve the company’s services;
  • How to cancel Blue Apron, which explains how to cancel your subscription in case you are not satisfied with their services;
  • Blue Apron vegan recipes, which introduces you to this company’s hard-to-find, too-good-to-be-true vegan recipes;
  • Blue Apron gluten-free recipes, which allows you to discover the wonderful selection of gluten-free recipes offered by this popular meal kit service;
  • Blue Apron introduces its Android app, which offers a quick glance at the set of features offered by the recently launched Blue Apron app for Android;
  • Blue Apron to launch its own podcast, which brings you all the most interesting information about the company’s latest project – its food-related podcast Why We Eat What We Eat.

While we believe Blue Apron is one of the best meal delivery services in the country, we understand that you might want to look into other options before making a decision. You can learn more about Blue Apron competitors here.

Blue Apron Review
Updated : 10.11.2017.
Rating : 9.5/10
Join our mailing list to receive exclusive updates, giveaways and coupon codes directly to your inbox.