Takeout is great, but it isn’t the best option for most people. The fact is that, with takeout, you spend more money than you need to. Cooking at home can often be problematic as well because many people buy too many groceries or end up making too much food and a lot of it ends up in the trash can.

Home Chef is a solution to both of these problems. With this meal delivery service, you will receive the precise amount of ingredients you need to cook with, alongside recipes and detailed instructions. If you enjoy home cooking and food variety yet can’t find the time to search for the recipes and groceries you need, take a look at our Home Chef review and find out why they’re rapidly rising in popularity.

Besides the usual meal delivery features, Home Chef goes so far as to ask for your personal taste profile according to which they will provide your recipes. With pre-portioned ingredients and one of Home Chef’s delicious 30-minute recipes, you can become pro chef in no time.Home Chef home page

How Home Chef Works

Curious about how their service works? Check out what we have discovered during our Home Chef review.

Taking special care not to disappoint with their menu variety, Home Chef makes sure they offer ten new dinner options, as well as new breakfasts, a fruit basket and even a smoothie each week. There’s always a dinner option to suit even the pickiest of eaters: from meat and seafood ingredients to gluten-free, soy-free and low-carb dishes.

Home Chef won’t ask you to commit for any particular period of time. Instead, they offer a flexible plan to suit everyone’s schedule. It’s no problem if you want to skip a delivery, edit your orders, or cancel directly online.

If you like Home Chef’s service and would like your loved ones to try it too, you can purchase a gift card in the amount of $60, $120, $240, or your own custom value, which they can use to order meals from Home Chef’s website.

What Makes Home Chef Different

Unlike what happens when you order takeout food, Home Chef takes special care to honor their 3 R rules, including reducing, reusing, and recycling the packaging they use. Remember, when using pre-portioned ingredients you also eliminate food waste and help preserve the environment. This is also reflected in the company’s policy of carefully choosing their suppliers, selecting only the most prominent who take care not to damage the ecosystem and demonstrate that same respect towards their employees.

Home Chef’s website even allows you to “meet” a few of their suppliers – you can read a little about who they are, how they work and what their standards are, and even see some pictures. In the spirit of environmental consciousness, Home Chef also advises you to recycle all the plastic parts you find in their delivery boxes. Their produce is always shipped in insulated, biodegradable boxes with water soluble, cool gel packs designed to keep your food refrigerated, not frozen. This way the food will be ready to cook, but won’t go bad even if it waits for you a couple of hours.

Home Chef’s marketplace offers a selection of kitchen dishes, utensils and other essentials you can purchase, in case you realize you’re missing something needed for one of your recipes. What really sets Home Chef apart from their competition is their taste profile feature – you can choose between numerous culinary preferences to get recipe offers especially tuned to your tastes.

Meals and Recipes

If you decide to register with Home Chef, you’ll be asked to fill out a taste chart, specifying what sort of ingredients you’d like to have in your meals. Home Chef offers one of the most detailed meal preference choices you’ll find, which they use to build your taste profile.

As far as dining preferences go, you start out by choosing meat, seafood, vegetables, or any combination of those. You can then specify any ingredients you’d like to avoid; for example, you can choose not to eat pork, red meat, gluten, mushrooms, soy, nuts, dairy, shellfish, or any combination of those. In addition, you can choose whether you prefer a low carb or low-calorie diet, both or neither.

Obviously, this is especially useful for vegetarians or people with allergies. When you’re done choosing your taste preferences, you can choose whether you’d like 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 meals per week for 2, 4 or 6 people. Compared to most food delivery services this is exceptionally flexible: instead of choosing a 2-person or typical family plan, you’ve got more choices. Afterward, you choose the day of the week you’d like your meals delivered – Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays or Fridays.

When your package arrives, just follow the step-by-step recipe cards. The preparation should be easy even if you’re a kitchen rookie.

home chef meals

Pricing

Home Chef takes pride in being able to offer you ingredients that are fresher and better than those you’ll find in local stores – and all that for about the same price. Their meals cost $9.95 per serving and you can choose between 2, 4, or 6 serving options.

home chef pricing

The good news is that you can order as many different meals as you’d like. They even offer fruit and smoothie add-ons for $4.95, as well as premium meals on occasion. These are special meals that are a bit pricier than what they normally offer, such as holiday specials which include multiple sides and a desert. Next Christmas you might not have to spend time shopping for groceries and looking for recipes, as Home Chef has everything you need for the occasion.

home chef pricing2

As far as delivery itself goes, it’s free of charge for orders over $45 but costs $10 for anything below that price. Unless you’re eating by yourself, you’ll probably end up ordering enough to get your food delivered for free. Taking all of this into account, we can say that Home Chef definitely has one of the most flexible payment plans when it comes to home deliveries. You’re offered lots of choices regarding the number of servings you’re ordering, as well as the recipes and add ons.

Delivery Areas

At this point, Home Chef offers delivery services to about 90% of the US. Their delivery range will, however, continue to grow, so in case your location isn’t supported yet, it probably will be in the near future. Just to be safe, you can enter your zip code on their website to find out whether they deliver to your area.

home chef delivery areas
Pros
  • Huge variety of meals to choose from
  • You can set your personal taste preference
  • Fresh and of high-quality ingredients
  • Easy-to-follow recipes
  • All meals prepared in 30 minutes or less

Cons

  • Delivers to 90% of the US

Sample Dishes

Bottom Line

Home Chef has been in the meal delivery game for a while. But, even though meal delivery is becoming more and more popular now and competitors are stepping up, Home Chef not only keeps up, they offer some pretty neat features you probably won’t find with any other service. For example, they have an amazing variety of options including gluten-free, soy-free, low-carb and vegetarian meals.

The ingredients are fresh and tasty and meal preparation takes as little as 30 minutes, with easy to follow step-by-step recipe cards to help you along the way. All in all, we were pleasantly surprised with what we found out while doing research for our Home Chef review. If you’re tired of ordering takeout or shopping for ingredients, but still want a warm, home-cooked meal, then we certainly recommend you give Home Chef a try – we’re sure you won’t be disappointed.

Home Chef Rating

Our ratings are the result of an objective and independent evaluation of Home Chef, generating the final rating that reflects the overall quality of the company. Ratings may change as the service changes.

Meal Options
Variety
Nutritional Value
Portion Size
Flexibility
Price
Final Rating 9.6/10

User Reviews (42)

    Home Chef user rating based on 42 user reviews.

    The reviews listed below reflect the opinions and experiences of real users and are in no way influenced by the meal delivery companies. Before publishing each review, our team checks whether it was submitted by an actual user in an effort to prevent false or spammy reviews.

  • Submitted By Sue on 09/14/2017
    I feel compelled to write a review because my husband and I LOVE our meals from Home Chef and I don't understand any bad reviews. As newly empty nesters, we have been receiving Home Chef for about a year now and maybe twice we have had bad produce - but never bad enough to ruin the meal. Every meal tastes exceptional and we have learned to make dishes that are out of our normal comfort zone. I recommend Home Chef to all our friends and tell them how it is so worth not having to think about what to make or buy groceries. I don't have unused, wasted food in my refrigerator any more, and dinner time is now an event for my husband and I to see what new meal we have to try! Only great reviews from this happy customer! Keep up the good work with great meals and excellent ingredients Home Chef!!
  • Submitted By Sandra Black on 08/31/2017
    They forgot or just didn’t care to put ice at the bottom of the box so the meat got spoilt. Will not order again.
  • Submitted By Pete Grant on 08/31/2017
    Theres a lot of variety with home chef, which I particularly like. You really get to try out some amazing recipes and eat healthy. No complaints so far.
  • Submitted By Barbara Berry on 08/30/2017
    They put in a lot of effort to deliver fresh groceries and come up with new recipes all the time. It works great for me but keep in mind that it may not be a great solution for people who can eat a lot.
  • Submitted By Mihalis Pappas on 08/28/2017
    Last night, I attempted to make the salmon dinner for two. I opened the bag that had the meats for meals in my freezer. There was ONE small piece of salmon! How can one small salmon filet feed two people! I then noticed my banquette for my meal tonight. It was MOLDY! Seriously? How can they send out incomplete meals with moldy bread?
  • Submitted By Sam Lane on 08/27/2017
    The taste profile is a really nice touch but I just feel that the service could be a bit better
  • Submitted By Duncan Andrews on 08/27/2017
    Terrible, terrible service! They didn’t get my order right and there was no ice with the meat so I had to go to the store and pay more money to buy freash meat! Unbelievable!
  • Submitted By Mary Lawson on 08/25/2017
    Home chef is the only meal delivery service I’ve tried so far and I’m pretty satisfied. My husband and 5-year old love the recipes and I don’t have to spend hours in the kitchen.
  • Submitted By Derick Montgomery on 08/22/2017
    I’d pay even more for the convenience this service brings.
  • Submitted By Ellen Johnson on 08/18/2017
    The food’s great if you’re not too picky an eater.
  • Submitted By Kim De Nicola on 08/18/2017
    This food is awesome!  We haven't eaten this many perfect steaks EVER.  In addition, I like the quantity of options each week and find the meat & veg options suit my family better than the more adventurous/exotic options with Blue Apron.  HOWEVER, Blue Apron meals arrives at my house faster and in much better condition.  Home Chef meals ship out on Saturday and don't arrive at my house until THURSDAY.  The ice packs are melted and the contents are barely cool.  I feel rushed to quickly prepare the thawed food in the next two days before it all spoils
  • Submitted By Danny Carr on 08/12/2017
    Food was average, service maybe even bellow average. It’s a good idea but definitely needs more work put into it.
  • Submitted By Tina Fields on 08/09/2017
    Honestly, I expected to be disappointed but hello fresh has delivered nothing but extraordinary ingredients and innovative recipes. Don’t listen to the critics, this is a really good service, especially considering that it’s so affordable.
  • Submitted By james on 08/07/2017
    We have been using home chef for over a year but the quality has went down significantly. Our order is almost always late and every week for nearly 3 months we have been missing ingredients or the herbs and vegetables are no good sometimes even spoiled.  Many times the packages of meat leak and get all over the inside if the delivery box. In the beginning they were quick to offer credits for missing or spoiled items and quick to respond in a nice way. Lately we have been having more problems with food and delivery and more problems getting customer service to respond.
  • Submitted By Berry Williamson on 08/05/2017
    I tried Blue Apron and Sun Basket before Home Chef and it’s really the best you can get
  • Submitted By Ray Oliver on 08/02/2017
    Wow I cant believe there are so many good reviews for home chef. The service is just terrible. Better spend your money on fresh food from the local market than just waisting it on low quality ingredients and poor service.
  • Submitted By Mark Burton on 07/31/2017
    I don’t know if it’s me but it takes me more than 30 minutes to prepare the meals. Other than that, the service is as advertised.
  • Submitted By Kathleen Zomack on 07/31/2017
    Quite happy with the service.  One drawback:  the very small packet of sour cream was not sufficient for the three large tortillas.  All other additives were sufficient, but disappointed in the amount of sour cream.
  • Submitted By Stella Morrison on 07/24/2017
    If you like being spoilt for choice, Home Chef is a great company for you. I can’t believe the variety they provide, it’s just superb. :)
  • Submitted By Susan Millington on 07/20/2017
    The dinners are great, but please don’t waste your money on the fruit “basket”, it’s ridiculous.
  • Submitted By Tom Welch on 07/19/2017
    Great service for vegetarians!
  • Submitted By Lisa Fowler on 07/12/2017
    They first box was missing chicken, the second had rotten veggies. Not the least impressed.
  • Submitted By Anne Bowles on 07/02/2017
    I’ve been ordering for a year or so now and they got everything perfect every time.
  • Submitted By Alice Griffiths, on 06/30/2017
    I’m quite satisfied with Home Chef. I like to have a choice and not to have to eat some kind of swill full of pesticides and hormones. The only thing I dislike is that they charge for the delivery. I’m single and can’t always order tons of food just to avoid paying for the shipping.
  • Submitted By Rory Frazier on 06/25/2017
    Once I received spoilt meat but they gave me a refund in less than 2 days, so I guess there ok.
  • Submitted By Chrissie Medina on 06/21/2017
    Love this service! There’s never any waste and you always feel full. My honest recommendation.
  • Submitted By Dan Jensen on 06/20/2017
    The portions are just too small for a grown man!!!
  • Submitted By Alex Byrd on 06/10/2017
    I’ve been with the services since the beginning of 2016 and haven’t had a bad meal since. If there’s a stellar meal service out there, its home chef!
  • Submitted By Logan Gibson, on 05/29/2017
    With Home Chef I really do feel like a chef, making all the decision, preparing delicious meals. My gf still can’t believe that I can do more in the kitchen than just boiling an egg.
  • Submitted By Peter Dolby on 05/22/2017
    I like the recipes and it’s quite convenient for someone who works a lot and still tries to eat healthy. There’s always something I’ve never tried before on the menu and I just love experimenting!
  • Submitted By Samantha Perry on 04/11/2017
    Foo is great, I can’t argue with that, but it’s just so little of it. Please make your portions bigger ASAP!
  • Submitted By Collin Frank, on 03/25/2017
    I travel a lot, so I really like that I can reschedule my meal deliveries with Home Chef. I’ve never been much of a cook, but now I know that I’m perfectly capable of preparing something decent.
  • Submitted By NF on 03/05/2017
    I rate food 3 ways. How much can I make it for at home, how much does something similar cost in a middle of the road, good restaurant(not fast food and not 5 forks, average person's restaurant) and now, by how much it costs from a fresh food delivery service plan. I'm ordering for two, cooking for one. Portions are ample, food very fresh, instructions clear. You need way more tools than what the directions call for and some basic knowledge of howto zest, juice, peel, dice, etc. Keep your iphone handy if you don't. I do, so I was good. If you follow the directions, you'll need all sorts of little bowls or plates to stash your prepped food. I found the order in which food was prepped was a little out of sync and there was a lot of prepping for such simple meals(tostadas and a greek salad). At 10 bucks a serving(let's not quibble over this marketing ploy of 5 cents), it was definitely cheaper or at the same level as a good restaurant, but I can easily make a similar meal for 1/2 price or even a third. If you grocery shop on a regular basis, I don't think this will save you that much time in the long run(you'rethere anyway) and I think you can make a healthy, similar meal for less. If you don't order the minimum, the shipping boosts your cost per serving way up. It's ok, but a lot of prep(for me), but the food sure is pretty and defintely tasty.
  • Submitted By Dorian Kleindienst on 02/21/2017
    We just finished our second  meal with HC.  It was fantastic and really fun to cook!  Getting my partner to eat vegetables is a big deal but not with HC. I thought it would be too expensive but as it turns out we are saving $$ by not tossing out food. I'm loving it! Thanks, D
  • Submitted By Frank on 11/05/2016
    I subscribed to Home Chef last May (2016) and was extremely impressed in every way. The problem I ran into was that I already had a fully stocked fridge & freezer and I got backed up on meals. Perhaps a blessing, my fridge/freezer broke down in Sept and I had to toss almost everything. So now I'm trying as many services as I can (their 1st shipment specials are awesome). I tried Blue Apron, and I guess to each their own, but I can't for the life of me understand why they're at the top of everyone's list. Too many sandwiches and rice/noodle/quinoa bowls and not a lot of optional choices, so I cancelled them. However, I'm LOVING Home Chef! And so is my 90 year old dad. B4 HC, I found I was throwing out so much food that HC is actually more economical. And the meals are absolutely delicious and their Customer Serice is AWESOME! Like I said, I'm trying as many services as I can (Hello Fresh 1st meal tonight) but it's going to be damn hard for any of these services to beat Home Chef!
  • Submitted By Michael Brenner on 10/01/2016
    I decided to try Home Chef several months ago, after I realized grocery shopping and searching for new recipes was too bothersome, especially since I live by myself and usually eat alone. I'm completely satisfied so far, both with the diversity of their recipes and the quality of ingredients. It's amazing how food sent to you in a box can be so fresh!
  • Submitted By Jamie Swartz on 09/19/2016
    Several times a week I order some of Home Chef's meals to cook for my family, and they are a real treat. The ingredients are super fresh and tasty! It saves me a lot of time with preparation, which makes cooking the meals more fun.
  • Submitted By Elizabeth Jennings on 09/08/2016
    Unlike the meal delivery I tried previously, Home Chef has lots of recipe options and fresh, tasty ingredients. It certainly beats having to go shopping for groceries!
  • Submitted By Edward Milano on 07/07/2016
    The ingredients are delicious and recipes easy to follow. However, I wish there were more vegetarian recipe options.
  • Submitted By Daniel Dailey on 06/16/2016
    I live with my wife and I have to say Home Chef really makes our dinners special. We don't order regularly, only on special occasions, but the meals are amazing: tasty and easy to cook!
  • Submitted By James O’Brian on 05/22/2016
    I like new stuff and I love ordering from HC, cause there’s always something new and interesting. Totally love breakfast and fruit basket options, that way I’m covered for the whole day!
  • Submitted By Nancy Thomas on 03/09/2016
    Food is great and always order from home chef when I have a bunch of guests coming over for dinner. I’d like more dessert options, though.
  • Show More Reviews ...

Want to find out even more about Home Chef?

Our Home Chef resources are designed to help you gain a greater insight into the workings of this excellent meal delivery service. Read our Home Chef blog and find out what to expect when it comes to:

  • What is Home Chef, which offers additional information on how this meal kit delivery service works and how it can facilitate everyday cooking;
  • Home Chef prices, including all the costs, from the price of their meals to the shipping costs and any other potential fees;
  • How much does Home Chef Cost, where you can find an overview of the company’s plans and pricing and information on Home Chef coupons and gift certificates;
  • Home Chef recipes, which lets you know everything about the variety of Home Chef recipes, the preparation difficulty, and the joys of hassle-free cooking;
  • Home Chef Delivery, covering all the relevant aspects of the entire delivery process.
Home Chef Review
Updated : 09.20.2017.
Rating : 9.6/10
Join our mailing list to receive exclusive updates, giveaways and coupon codes directly to your inbox.