Home Chef has been on the market for half a decade and in that time, it has developed into a perfect example of what a meal kit delivery service should look like. It boasts a rich menu with fresh meal ideas available every week, the ordering process is quick and simple, the subscriptions are flexible, and the prices are more than fair. It provides the freshest, natural ingredients and easy-to-follow recipes that allow you to cook a gorgeous dinner in just half an hour, regardless of your cooking skills. Plus, you can enrich your weekly menu with some refreshing fruity add-ons and a lunch that takes just 5 minutes to make. Learn more about how this renowned service can help you start cooking effortlessly and eating more healthily in this Home Chef revie

Home Chef home page

How Home Chef Works

Curious about how their service works? Check out what we have discovered during our Home Chef review.

Taking special care not to disappoint with menu variety, Home Chef makes sure offer 12 new dinner options, as well as new breakfasts, a fruit basket and a smoothie each week. There’s always a dinner option to suit even the pickiest of eaters: from meat and seafood ingredients to gluten-free, soy-free and low-carb dishes. Recently, the company has enriched its offer with incredible 5-minute lunches that allow you to quickly make a delicious lunch wherever you are, no cooking required.

Home Chef won’t ask you to commit for any particular period of time. Instead, it offer a flexible plan to suit everyone’s schedule. It’s no problem if you want to skip a delivery, edit your orders, or cancel directly online.

If you like Home Chef’s service and would like your loved ones to try it too, you can purchase a gift card in the amount of $60, $120, $240, or your own custom value, which they can use to order meals from Home Chef’s website.

What Makes Home Chef Different

Unlike what happens when you order takeout food, Home Chef takes special care to honor its 3 R rules, including reducing, reusing, and recycling the packaging it use. Remember, when using pre-portioned ingredients you also eliminate food waste and help preserve the environment. This is also reflected in the company’s policy of carefully choosing its suppliers, selecting only the most prominent who take care not to damage the ecosystem and demonstrate that same respect towards their employees.

Home Chef’s website even allows you to “meet” a few of its suppliers – you can read a little about who they are, how they work and what their standards are, and even see some pictures. In the spirit of environmental consciousness, Home Chef also advises you to recycle all the plastic parts you find in its delivery boxes. Its produce is always shipped in insulated, biodegradable boxes with water soluble, cool gel packs designed to keep your food refrigerated, not frozen. This way the food will be ready to cook, but won’t go bad even if it waits for you a couple of hours.

Home Chef’s marketplace offers a selection of kitchen dishes, utensils and other essentials you can purchase, in case you realize you’re missing something needed for one of your recipes. What really sets Home Chef apart from its  competition is its taste profile feature – you can choose between numerous culinary preferences to get recipe offers especially tuned to your tastes.

Meals and Recipes

If you decide to register with Home Chef, you’ll be asked to fill out a taste chart, specifying what sort of ingredients you’d like to have in your meals. Home Chef offers one of the most detailed meal preference choices you’ll find, which they use to build your taste profile.

As far as dining preferences go, you start out by choosing meat, seafood, vegetables, or any combination of those. You can then specify any ingredients you’d like to avoid; for example, you can choose not to eat pork, red meat, gluten, mushrooms, soy, nuts, dairy, shellfish, or any combination of those. In addition, you can choose whether you prefer a low carb or low-calorie diet, both or neither.

Obviously, this is especially useful for vegetarians or people with allergies. When you’re done choosing your taste preferences, you can choose whether you’d like 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 meals per week for 2, 4 or 6 people. Compared to most food delivery services this is exceptionally flexible: instead of choosing a 2-person or typical family plan, you’ve got more choices. Afterward, you choose the day of the week you’d like your meals delivered – Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays or Fridays.

When your package arrives, just follow the step-by-step recipe cards. The preparation should be easy even if you’re a kitchen rookie.

home chef meals


Home Chef takes pride in being able to offer you ingredients that are fresher and better than those you’ll find in local stores – and all that for about the same price. Their meals cost $9.95 per serving and you can choose between 2, 4, or 6 serving options. The 5-minute lunches come at a lower price and cost $7.99 per serving.

home chef pricing

The good news is that you can order as many different meals as you’d like. You can even purchase fruit and smoothie add-ons for $4.95, as well as premium meals on occasion. These are special meals that are a bit pricier than the standard menu items, such as holiday specials which include multiple sides and a desert. Next Christmas you might not have to spend time shopping for groceries and looking for recipes, as Home Chef has everything you need for the occasion.

home chef pricing2

As far as delivery itself goes, it’s free of charge for orders over $45 but costs up to $10 for orders below that price. Unless you’re eating by yourself, you’ll probably end up ordering enough to get your food delivered for free. Taking all of this into account, we can say that Home Chef definitely has one of the most flexible payment plans when it comes to home deliveries. You’re offered lots of choices regarding the number of servings you’re ordering, as well as the recipes and add ons.

Delivery Areas

Until recently, Home Chef offered its services to only about 90% of the US. Fortunately, the company is constantly working on expanding its delivery map and now covers around 98% of the country. Its delivery range will continue to grow, so in case your location isn’t supported yet, it probably will be in the near future. Just to be safe, you can enter your zip code on the company’s website to find out whether it delivers to your area.

home chef delivery areas
  • Huge variety of meals to choose from
  • You can set your personal taste preference
  • Fresh and of high-quality ingredients
  • Easy-to-follow recipes
  • All meals prepared in 30 minutes or less


  • The service should introduce more options for special diets

Bottom Line

Home Chef has been in the meal delivery game for a while. But, even though meal delivery is becoming more and more popular now and competitors are stepping up, Home Chef not only keeps up, it offers some pretty neat features you probably won’t find with any other service. For example, it has an amazing variety of options including gluten-free, soy-free, low-carb, and vegetarian meals.

The ingredients are fresh and tasty and meal preparation takes as little as 30 minutes, with easy-to-follow step-by-step recipe cards to help you along the way. All in all, we were pleasantly surprised with what we found out while doing research for our Home Chef review. If, you’re tired of ordering takeout or shopping for ingredients, but still want a warm, home-cooked meal, then we certainly recommend you give Home Chef a try – we’re sure you won’t be disappointed.

Home Chef Rating

Our ratings are the result of an objective and independent evaluation of Home Chef, generating the final rating that reflects the overall quality of the company. Ratings may change as the service changes.

Meal Options
Nutritional Value
Portion Size
Final Rating9.8/10

User Reviews (72)

    Home Chef user rating based on 72 user reviews.

    The reviews listed below reflect the opinions and experiences of real users and are in no way influenced by the meal delivery companies. Before publishing each review, our team checks whether it was submitted by an actual user in an effort to prevent false or spammy reviews.

  • Submitted By Rick on 03/13/2018
    We used home chef for 3 months. For the first month everything went well, then the las 2 months there was an issue with every order. On one order they didn’t send the meat, other orders missing ingredients, then last week, we got molded peppers. All they said was, we will give you a $5 credit. That’s when we cancelled and went with a different company that sends fresh ingredients. I wonder how much of the meat was bad and we didn’t know it. No date on the meats.
  • Submitted By Kimberly Perez on 03/13/2018
    Been using them for about a year. Always good!
  • Submitted By Steve D on 03/11/2018
    Very tasty meals! Super easy to make and always turn out well. Great customer service, too.
  • Submitted By S Thayer on 03/07/2018
    I only gave it a one because there is no zero my first order was missing part of the meal second order was delivered after the delivery date I’m done
  • Submitted By Audrey Black on 02/07/2018
    Out of all the meal kits I’ve tried, I’ve stayed with Home Chef the longest, probably because I like their meals more than others. But I’m still struggling with some recipes, sure, the instructions are clear and all, but I’m not sure these chefs know what it’s like to be an absolute beginner. I mean, the meals turn out ok, but I never seem to get it perfect.
  • Jerri Ann Kahl on 02/18/2018
    I've been ordering HelloFresh for about a year. Does Home Chef offer a "first box Free" coupon code? All I've seen is half price or $30 off your first box (same thing). Can someone please send me the one time Free code?
  • Submitted By Keith Pounds on 02/01/2018
    Wasn’t sure what to expect but I was really pleasantly surprised. The recipes are easy, the ingredients are fresh, and I really liked the 5 minute lunch, such an excellent idea, hope they plan on adding more of them to the menu.
  • Submitted By Ed Cain on 01/31/2018
    I’ve been divorced for 4 years now and it has not been easy, getting used to being single again, having to cook my own meals, eating them alone, it was really depressing at first. HC really helped me go back to eating homecooked instead of takeout. I often have friends over and cooking has become a sort of passion of mine. Not to sound cheesy, but it has really changed my life for the better.
  • Submitted By Mark on 01/31/2018
    The recipes and food are really great. The quality in the ingredients is there. The ziploc bags and packaging is great. I think some recipes need more carbs; there were some with protein and veggies only. Compared to Plated and HelloFresh, this has been the best one in terms of taste so far.
  • Submitted By Cassie on 01/24/2018
    I received my first shipment of 3 meals for 2 yesterday and cooked my first recipe last night. So far, I have mixed feelings about HomeChef. I really want to love them, but a few things have thrown me off - I had a question regarding shipment and attempted to call on Monday (the day before my shipment was to arrive). I use the word attempted because no one answered, I got the voicemail in the middle of the day. I tried again and waited for someone to take my call for several minutes before giving up. I then sent a message which I still do not have a response for. So, bad customer service. Secondly, when I did receive my box, there was a funny odor coming from it. All bags and the inside of the box smelled weird, like rotting food but all the food looks good so I am completely not sure what to think. I cooked BBQ Rubbed Chicken and Broccoli cheddar mac as the first meal (my husband chose LOL) and it was somewhat difficult to cook - and I know my way around a kitchen - I'm no newbie! When I finally did get the meal prepared, it just wasn't a lot of food. I was fine, but my husband I know was still hungry. I hope tonight's meal goes a bit better but honestly I'm a little disappointed. Not in the food or recipes themselves but the customer service, weird smells and a bit-too-small portions. If tonight's meal is the same I might try Freshly or a different meal service.
  • Submitted By Nina on 02/15/2018
    I've never tried to call them but I have emailed a few times. I've always had a response in less than 24 hours. Definitely let them know your concerns so they can refund you. Their customer service has been above and beyond my expectations.
  • Ed on 02/04/2018
    That's very scary. You paid money tl for unsatisfactory ending. I would say ending because from what you just described there's no way in hell I would make second attempt. God be with you.
  • Edward on 02/04/2018
    Why would you make another attempt to try eating this again? You paid money for an unsatisfactory ending. From what you just said there is no way I would eat this. I will pray for you and your husband.. lol
  • Submitted By Kathy stahl on 01/13/2018
    Home Chef is amazing. The food, herbs, meats, portions , are perfect. My husband is cooking every night. We have yet, to experience a bad meal. The steaks are amazing. We have never eaten better, or healthier, than we do now. My trips to the grocery store are less, savings there. We are not wasting food with lots of left overs. The money you save, the quality of food you receive, you simply cannot beat. Home Chef takes great pride and love in what they do. As if they were dining with you., having a great meal, with great fellowship.
  • Submitted By Myra Felton on 01/03/2018
    They get all your payment info before you see the menu. I had a gift card for $60 but the total for the meals was $99.50. I immediately cancelled but they had already sent the $39.50 charge to PayPal. Usually you get to review an order before money is withdrawn. I hope I can get my money back. They don't deserve any stars for setting up their site this way.
  • Nina on 02/15/2018
    I see so many people say they can't see the menus before they sign up. You actually can, but by the frequency if this complaint they obviously need to make it easier to find. They have exceed my expectations in customer service so I have faith they will fix this for you
  • KC on 02/13/2018
    I agree. This is the same issue I had. You have no choice but to pay before you chose. I cancelled for the same exact reason but my card was still charged. I am hoping to get this settled also.
  • Darin 01/20/2018
    Home Chef has resolved 100% of any questions for us. 150% satisfied. Just give them a call and I’m confident they will resolve this for you. However you will have to talk with a real person that cares about you and the service they provide. I know it’s a shock in today’s big business so prepare yourself .
  • Submitted By James Brethour on 12/30/2017
    Been using them for about a month, and we love it! While it doesn't save time in the kitchen (some of the meals are fairly involved to prepare), the meals are very thoughtful, delicious with a wide range of flavors, and different choices each week. Also, it makes us learn how to prepare meals we never would have before. Last night we had a dish with pork chops and the pork was the most succulent I've ever had. I honestly don't know how they do it all for such a reasonable price. The only criticism I could have is the large amount of packaging involved. Yes, it's mostly recyclable, but in my city the recycling is picked up only every 2 weeks and the bin can never hold all that we have.
  • Submitted By Cheri Humphries 12/20/2017
    I like the recipes, but there should be more gluten-free meals, sometimes I can’t even choose 2 meals, because the ones I really like contain gluten and the ones that don’t are not what I’m craving, so I have to skip a week and think of something else to cook, buy groceries and stuff and my whole week is ruined.
  • Submitted By Julie on 12/18/2017
    We have been receiving Home Chef selections for about six months now. With the exception of one or two meals, each one has been a delight to make and enjoy. The few that were not exceptionally good were still fine, just not entirely to our taste. The range of selections and the character of the various seasonings has been great. Home Chef is not afraid of real flavors. Nevertheless, I don’t hesitate to enhance some of the selections from time to time, mostly by adding more garlic . But that is part of the fun of it. The recipes are generally simple to prepare and very divergent from my personal repertoire.. So we have new experiences all the time now. Delivery to the door, particularly in winter months is such a luxury besides. An excellent program all around.
  • Submitted By Lindsay Brooks on 12/09/2017
    The portions are never the same. Sometimes, there’s so much food it eventually goes to waste because we can’t eat the same dish for 3 days and other times, there is not enough for both of us. Sure, the food is good, but what’s the point of pre-measuring if you’re not doing it right?!
  • Submitted By Elizabeth Orris on 11/30/2017
    I LOVE Home chef....always fresh and yummy...no more wasted food in my fridge...portioned spices/wines/glaces save $$$, fresh herbs and garlic peeled and portioned!...and lovely steaks, pork and poultry...did I mention choices from Oriental to Italian, American, European cuisine. You will also receive a 3-ring binder for the recipe cards. I tell all my friends and family about Home Chef and have gifted them with Home Chef offered $50.00 free boxes to try themselves. If things have gone wrong in your first box or at any time CALL. The support staff are helpful and always considerate...exp. my recipes fell to the bottom of the box, during shipping. I called and was sent new recipes.
  • Submitted By Dave P. on 11/22/2017
    The recipes and chicken and pork are 4 to 5 star worthy. The vegetables and herbs tend to get some damage during handling and/or shipping. The problem is the freezer packs leak all over the ingredients and out the bottom of the box. Also the proteins frequently leak but they are double bagging them now so it has gotten better. They offered Thanksgiving deserts and sides to be delivered by Wednesday. I ordered these and found out today they will be delivered Friday. I filed a complaint with the FDA about the freezer packs. I will be switching to another company. If you do use Home Fresh, please do not eat any foods that are contaminated by the freezer packs. Home Fresh recommends that you thaw the packs and then drain them down the sink to avoid contaminating any land fills. If it will contaminate a land fill, it cannot possibly be a good thing to come in contact with the food. http://thetable.homechef.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/Home-Chef-Disposal-Guidance.pdf No guidance on actual chemical contents or warnings/instructions if it comes into contact with the food.
  • Nina on 02/15/2018
    In the year I've been with home chef I've never had a leaky ice pack. That's crazy! I do like that they double pack the protein. It shows they listen to what were are saying and react. Their customer service exceed ed my expectations when I've emailed them
  • Submitted By ur on 11/15/2017
    Way too many good reviews for this place. It saves time at the grocery store and that's it. You still have to prep and cook everything. They charged me for an extra meal I didn't order and the service is terrible. I've had better luck using "freshly"
  • Submitted By Alice on 10/26/2017
    The food is very tasty. The portions sufficient for two people. My only problem is the very high sodium level each serving. My first three meals all had sodium levels of 1500 to 1600+ mg. Since the recommended amount is a maxinium 2400 daily, this is very high.
  • Submitted By Kevan on 10/23/2017
    They charged me for meals after I canceled it. Then they gave me a hard time to get a refund. If I hadn’t checked my credit card charges I would have paid for it. They didn’t even say they were sorry.
  • Submitted By Olivia on 10/19/2017
    I have tried two other meal services and Home Chef is the best one. They have way more options then others and their portions are much bigger.
  • Submitted By Barb Doyle on 09/28/2017
    Tried our first entree last night and it was very tasty!  Easy to make and the ingredients were super fresh. The convenience and exact ingredients makes this a great option for empty nesters. Looking forward to our steak dinner Friday!
  • Submitted By Sue on 09/14/2017
    I feel compelled to write a review because my husband and I LOVE our meals from Home Chef and I don't understand any bad reviews. As newly empty nesters, we have been receiving Home Chef for about a year now and maybe twice we have had bad produce - but never bad enough to ruin the meal. Every meal tastes exceptional and we have learned to make dishes that are out of our normal comfort zone. I recommend Home Chef to all our friends and tell them how it is so worth not having to think about what to make or buy groceries. I don't have unused, wasted food in my refrigerator any more, and dinner time is now an event for my husband and I to see what new meal we have to try! Only great reviews from this happy customer! Keep up the good work with great meals and excellent ingredients Home Chef!!
  • Submitted By Sandra Black on 08/31/2017
    They forgot or just didn’t care to put ice at the bottom of the box so the meat got spoilt. Will not order again.
  • Submitted By Pete Grant on 08/31/2017
    Theres a lot of variety with home chef, which I particularly like. You really get to try out some amazing recipes and eat healthy. No complaints so far.
  • Submitted By Barbara Berry on 08/30/2017
    They put in a lot of effort to deliver fresh groceries and come up with new recipes all the time. It works great for me but keep in mind that it may not be a great solution for people who can eat a lot.
  • Submitted By Mihalis Pappas on 08/28/2017
    Last night, I attempted to make the salmon dinner for two. I opened the bag that had the meats for meals in my freezer. There was ONE small piece of salmon! How can one small salmon filet feed two people! I then noticed my banquette for my meal tonight. It was MOLDY! Seriously? How can they send out incomplete meals with moldy bread?
  • Submitted By Sam Lane on 08/27/2017
    The taste profile is a really nice touch but I just feel that the service could be a bit better
  • Submitted By Duncan Andrews on 08/27/2017
    Terrible, terrible service! They didn’t get my order right and there was no ice with the meat so I had to go to the store and pay more money to buy freash meat! Unbelievable!
  • Submitted By Mary Lawson on 08/25/2017
    Home chef is the only meal delivery service I’ve tried so far and I’m pretty satisfied. My husband and 5-year old love the recipes and I don’t have to spend hours in the kitchen.
  • Submitted By Derick Montgomery on 08/22/2017
    I’d pay even more for the convenience this service brings.
  • Submitted By Ellen Johnson on 08/18/2017
    The food’s great if you’re not too picky an eater.
  • Submitted By Kim De Nicola on 08/18/2017
    This food is awesome!  We haven't eaten this many perfect steaks EVER.  In addition, I like the quantity of options each week and find the meat & veg options suit my family better than the more adventurous/exotic options with Blue Apron.  HOWEVER, Blue Apron meals arrives at my house faster and in much better condition.  Home Chef meals ship out on Saturday and don't arrive at my house until THURSDAY.  The ice packs are melted and the contents are barely cool.  I feel rushed to quickly prepare the thawed food in the next two days before it all spoils
  • Submitted By Danny Carr on 08/12/2017
    Food was average, service maybe even bellow average. It’s a good idea but definitely needs more work put into it.
  • Submitted By Tina Fields on 08/09/2017
    Honestly, I expected to be disappointed but hello fresh has delivered nothing but extraordinary ingredients and innovative recipes. Don’t listen to the critics, this is a really good service, especially considering that it’s so affordable.
  • Submitted By james on 08/07/2017
    We have been using home chef for over a year but the quality has went down significantly. Our order is almost always late and every week for nearly 3 months we have been missing ingredients or the herbs and vegetables are no good sometimes even spoiled.  Many times the packages of meat leak and get all over the inside if the delivery box. In the beginning they were quick to offer credits for missing or spoiled items and quick to respond in a nice way. Lately we have been having more problems with food and delivery and more problems getting customer service to respond.
  • Submitted By Berry Williamson on 08/05/2017
    I tried Blue Apron and Sun Basket before Home Chef and it’s really the best you can get
  • Submitted By Ray Oliver on 08/02/2017
    Wow I cant believe there are so many good reviews for home chef. The service is just terrible. Better spend your money on fresh food from the local market than just waisting it on low quality ingredients and poor service.
  • Submitted By Mark Burton on 07/31/2017
    I don’t know if it’s me but it takes me more than 30 minutes to prepare the meals. Other than that, the service is as advertised.
  • Submitted By Kathleen Zomack on 07/31/2017
    Quite happy with the service.  One drawback:  the very small packet of sour cream was not sufficient for the three large tortillas.  All other additives were sufficient, but disappointed in the amount of sour cream.
  • Submitted By Stella Morrison on 07/24/2017
    If you like being spoilt for choice, Home Chef is a great company for you. I can’t believe the variety they provide, it’s just superb. :)
  • Submitted By Susan Millington on 07/20/2017
    The dinners are great, but please don’t waste your money on the fruit “basket”, it’s ridiculous.
  • Submitted By Tom Welch on 07/19/2017
    Great service for vegetarians!
  • Submitted By Lisa Fowler on 07/12/2017
    They first box was missing chicken, the second had rotten veggies. Not the least impressed.
  • Submitted By Anne Bowles on 07/02/2017
    I’ve been ordering for a year or so now and they got everything perfect every time.
  • Submitted By Alice Griffiths, on 06/30/2017
    I’m quite satisfied with Home Chef. I like to have a choice and not to have to eat some kind of swill full of pesticides and hormones. The only thing I dislike is that they charge for the delivery. I’m single and can’t always order tons of food just to avoid paying for the shipping.
  • Submitted By Rory Frazier on 06/25/2017
    Once I received spoilt meat but they gave me a refund in less than 2 days, so I guess there ok.
  • Submitted By Chrissie Medina on 06/21/2017
    Love this service! There’s never any waste and you always feel full. My honest recommendation.
  • Submitted By Dan Jensen on 06/20/2017
    The portions are just too small for a grown man!!!
  • Submitted By Alex Byrd on 06/10/2017
    I’ve been with the services since the beginning of 2016 and haven’t had a bad meal since. If there’s a stellar meal service out there, its home chef!
  • Submitted By Logan Gibson, on 05/29/2017
    With Home Chef I really do feel like a chef, making all the decision, preparing delicious meals. My gf still can’t believe that I can do more in the kitchen than just boiling an egg.
  • Submitted By Peter Dolby on 05/22/2017
    I like the recipes and it’s quite convenient for someone who works a lot and still tries to eat healthy. There’s always something I’ve never tried before on the menu and I just love experimenting!
  • Submitted By Samantha Perry on 04/11/2017
    Foo is great, I can’t argue with that, but it’s just so little of it. Please make your portions bigger ASAP!
  • Submitted By Collin Frank, on 03/25/2017
    I travel a lot, so I really like that I can reschedule my meal deliveries with Home Chef. I’ve never been much of a cook, but now I know that I’m perfectly capable of preparing something decent.
  • Submitted By NF on 03/05/2017
    I rate food 3 ways. How much can I make it for at home, how much does something similar cost in a middle of the road, good restaurant(not fast food and not 5 forks, average person's restaurant) and now, by how much it costs from a fresh food delivery service plan. I'm ordering for two, cooking for one. Portions are ample, food very fresh, instructions clear. You need way more tools than what the directions call for and some basic knowledge of howto zest, juice, peel, dice, etc. Keep your iphone handy if you don't. I do, so I was good. If you follow the directions, you'll need all sorts of little bowls or plates to stash your prepped food. I found the order in which food was prepped was a little out of sync and there was a lot of prepping for such simple meals(tostadas and a greek salad). At 10 bucks a serving(let's not quibble over this marketing ploy of 5 cents), it was definitely cheaper or at the same level as a good restaurant, but I can easily make a similar meal for 1/2 price or even a third. If you grocery shop on a regular basis, I don't think this will save you that much time in the long run(you'rethere anyway) and I think you can make a healthy, similar meal for less. If you don't order the minimum, the shipping boosts your cost per serving way up. It's ok, but a lot of prep(for me), but the food sure is pretty and defintely tasty.
  • Submitted By Dorian Kleindienst on 02/21/2017
    We just finished our second  meal with HC.  It was fantastic and really fun to cook!  Getting my partner to eat vegetables is a big deal but not with HC. I thought it would be too expensive but as it turns out we are saving $$ by not tossing out food. I'm loving it! Thanks, D
  • Submitted By Frank on 11/05/2016
    I subscribed to Home Chef last May (2016) and was extremely impressed in every way. The problem I ran into was that I already had a fully stocked fridge & freezer and I got backed up on meals. Perhaps a blessing, my fridge/freezer broke down in Sept and I had to toss almost everything. So now I'm trying as many services as I can (their 1st shipment specials are awesome). I tried Blue Apron, and I guess to each their own, but I can't for the life of me understand why they're at the top of everyone's list. Too many sandwiches and rice/noodle/quinoa bowls and not a lot of optional choices, so I cancelled them. However, I'm LOVING Home Chef! And so is my 90 year old dad. B4 HC, I found I was throwing out so much food that HC is actually more economical. And the meals are absolutely delicious and their Customer Serice is AWESOME! Like I said, I'm trying as many services as I can (Hello Fresh 1st meal tonight) but it's going to be damn hard for any of these services to beat Home Chef!
  • Submitted By Michael Brenner on 10/01/2016
    I decided to try Home Chef several months ago, after I realized grocery shopping and searching for new recipes was too bothersome, especially since I live by myself and usually eat alone. I'm completely satisfied so far, both with the diversity of their recipes and the quality of ingredients. It's amazing how food sent to you in a box can be so fresh!
  • Submitted By Jamie Swartz on 09/19/2016
    Several times a week I order some of Home Chef's meals to cook for my family, and they are a real treat. The ingredients are super fresh and tasty! It saves me a lot of time with preparation, which makes cooking the meals more fun.
  • Submitted By Elizabeth Jennings on 09/08/2016
    Unlike the meal delivery I tried previously, Home Chef has lots of recipe options and fresh, tasty ingredients. It certainly beats having to go shopping for groceries!
  • Submitted By Edward Milano on 07/07/2016
    The ingredients are delicious and recipes easy to follow. However, I wish there were more vegetarian recipe options.
  • Submitted By Daniel Dailey on 06/16/2016
    I live with my wife and I have to say Home Chef really makes our dinners special. We don't order regularly, only on special occasions, but the meals are amazing: tasty and easy to cook!
  • Submitted By James O’Brian on 05/22/2016
    I like new stuff and I love ordering from HC, cause there’s always something new and interesting. Totally love breakfast and fruit basket options, that way I’m covered for the whole day!
  • Submitted By Nancy Thomas on 03/09/2016
    Food is great and always order from home chef when I have a bunch of guests coming over for dinner. I’d like more dessert options, though.
  • Show More Reviews ...

Home Chef Coupons

We found 1 verified Home Chef promo code for March, 2018.

Home Chef Coupon

3 Free MealsEnjoy 3 Free Meals with Home Chef! - Save $30


If you like Home Chef but aren’t sure whether they are truly the ideal choice for you, you may want to take a look at our comparisons below to discover if one of their competitors is more suitable for you.

Want to find out even more about Home Chef?

Our Home Chef resources are designed to help you gain a greater insight into the workings of this excellent meal delivery service. Read our Home Chef blog and find out what to expect when it comes to:

Home Chef Review
Updated : 03.21.2018.
Rating : 9.8/10
Join our mailing list to receive exclusive updates, giveaways and coupon codes directly to your inbox.