Whether you love or loathe cooking, one thing is for sure – the hardest thing about it is coming up with what to cook for each day of the week. Many of us have tried making weekly menus but failed to stick to them with all the leftovers, night eating, and simply not really craving what you planned for that day. Still, even if you take the time to plan your meals, it takes a lot of time to discover new recipes that suit your taste and it always seems easier to cook the meals you are used to, which is a safe way to get stuck in a rut and eat the same dishes over and over again. Finally, if you are more creative than we are and always think of new recipes you would like to try out, it can prove hard to find the best, highest-quality ingredients that are the starting point of every great meal. This is where Sun Basket comes in.

sun-basket-homepage

Every week, Sun Basket comes up with new recipe ideas, finds the freshest seasonal ingredients, and delivers them right to your door. That way, they offer you the chance to eat and cook something new every week, without having to spend time browsing through recipes and grocery shopping. The cool thing about Sun Basket is that the recipes are easy to follow and the ingredients are pre-measured, which makes cooking a lot more fun and eliminates the unnecessary waste. Also, it kind of makes you feel like a superstar TV chef, with all the ingredients measured and laid out for you, so you can just put on a smile and get cooking.

How Sun Basket Works

The rules are simple. Every week, they offer 17 new recipes to choose from. You can pick and order two, three or four recipes along with the necessary ingredients for two or four people. Apart from the option to hand-pick the recipes from their weekly selection, you can also choose a meal plan that works best for you. You can decide whether you wish to receive your deliveries on Mondays, Tuesdays or Wednesdays between 8am and 9pm.

The recipes they offer are crafted by a top San Francisco chef and approved by their in-house nutritionist. Most of the meals take about 30 minutes to make, so you not only save time on grocery shopping and planning, but the time you spend cooking these delicious, healthy meals is no longer than the average sitcom. Along with the handy recipe cards, you also get online tutorials, which make the process even easier. The meals contain just the right amount of calories you need to maintain a healthy diet – 500-800 calories per serving. As far as the ingredients go, you can expect nothing but the best seasonal ingredients, meat and seafood our country has to offer.

If you like what they have on offer and wish to share it with your friends, you can refer them to Sun Basket or send them a gift. If you choose to refer a friend, they get three free meals and you get $25 once they join. If you want to send a gift, you can choose between 1, 2, or 4 weeks of Sun Basket meal delivery, accompanied by a personalized gift note which is emailed to your friends on the date you select, and your friends get to choose the recipes and delivery dates that work best for them.

If you wish to cancel or skip a delivery, you can do it at any time, just make sure to tell them in advance.

sun-basket-how-does-it-work

What Makes Sun Basket Different

The heart and soul of Sun Basket is their lovely chef, Justine Kelly. Apart from being the former head chef of James Beard’s award–winning restaurant The Slanted Door, Justine is also a mom who knows what kids need to eat and how to get them to love it. Her skills, imagination and love for food know no limits and if you read more about her and try out her recipes, we’re sure it will all rub off on you, too.

The company works hard on providing only the finest of seasonal ingredients. They cooperate with the best ranchers, fishermen and farm owners in the country, who know that providing food and treating our planet with respect and care is not an option, but a necessity.

What we found extremely useful while doing research for this Sun Basket review are the refrigeration tips they offer. Not only do the ingredients they deliver come in insulated boxes which keep the food fresh for 8 hours, but the people at Sun Basket have also taken the time to provide all the information you need to keep the food fresh until you decide to use it. For example, they advise you to put the meat and fish in the freezer if you do not plan to use them until much later in the week and check if there are some veggies or fruit in the bag, like tomatoes or avocados, which should be kept on the counter in order to allow for the ripening process to take place.

Their website also features an entire section on recycling, which shows how much they care about keeping our planet green and thriving. Everything they use in the process of packing the ingredients is fully recyclable and all you need to do is follow their instructions for choosing the right bin.

They also have a great blog with various tricks, tips and useful information on numerous food-related matters.

Meals and Recipes

Every week, you get to check out what Chef Justine has in store for you next. You can browse through all the recipes or just look at the categories that interest you most. Her ideas are always delicious and exciting, the photos are breathtaking and we are sure you will have a hard time picking just three out of all the amazing dishes Chef Justine has crafted just for you.

The meal plans Sun Basket offers are Classic and Family.

Classic plan

With the Classic plan, you can choose between 12 delicious and healthy recipes. The options available include Paleo, gluten-free, vegetarian and breakfast recipes. Sun Basket strives to accommodate all kinds of dietary needs and preferences, so you may also find soy-free, dairy-free and low-calorie meals on the menu. Each week, you can choose 3 recipes for 2 or 4 people.

steak-teriyaki-with-cauliflower-rice

Family plan

The Family plan features 5 recipes every week, with gluten-free and vegetarian options available. These recipes are created with a little help from the famous Chef Tyler Florence of the Food Network. The meals in this plan are particularly suitable for children and feature flavors most kids love. With every delivery, you get to choose 2 or 4 recipes for 4 people.

green-chile-pozole-with-quinoa

Finally, be sure to check out the recipe section. If everything listed in this Sun Basket review has not convinced to give them a shot, browsing through all that delicious goodness will surely make you want to try it all and it will keep you craving for more.

Pricing

The cost of a meal (which includes a recipe and the ingredients) at Sun Basket is $11.49 per person when you opt for the Classic Menu. That means that three meals made using their recipes and ingredients will cost you $74.93 for two persons or $143.87 for four persons, including the delivery costs ($5.99). When you order for the first time, you will pay $68.94 for the two-person plan or $137.88 for the four-person plan, since the delivery is free for the first week of subscription. If you opt for the Family Menu, the price per person is $9.99. That is $79.92 for 2 meals and 159.84 for 4 meals for 4 people the first time you order. The price of all other orders will include the additional $5.99 for shipping. It is important to know that if you are not happy with the food you receive, you get a full refund.

Delivery Areas

Sun Basket delivers to 47 states within the continental US. Currently, its delivery area does not include Alaska, Hawaii, and Montana, as well as parts of New Mexico. The good news is that the company is constantly adding new states to its delivery map. If it does not deliver to your state and you are interested in the service, the friendly folks behind Sun Basket encourage you to contact them via email, so they could work on making it happen. We were a bit disappointed to find out that they do not offer free shipping. Delivery costs are $5.99 for all orders, except for the first week.

Pros
  • New, amazing recipes every week
  • Nutritionist-approved
  • High-quality ingredients
  • Incredibly environmentally responsible
  • High flexibility

Cons

  • Shipping costs $5.99 for every order

Sample Dishes

Bottom Line

Sun Basket’s motto is “we’re not happy unless you’re happy“ and we feel like they truly mean it. The recipes they offer are amazing and easy to follow and the ingredients you receive are fresh, high-quality, organic whenever possible and sustainably sourced. We were honestly impressed by the variety of recipes and options they offer and we believe that Sun Basket really has something for everyone.

We also have to praise them for being one of the most environmentally responsible delivery services we have encountered so far.

Honestly, the only thing we did not really like is that shipping is not free, which increases the price of their deliveries. However, according to their math, with Sun Basket, you save $16.99 on grocery shopping per meal, not to mention all the time you save by ordering from them.

If what you need is more time, less hassle and always something new and healthy on the table, you should certainly give Sun Basket a shot.

Sun Basket Rating

Our ratings are the result of an objective and independent evaluation of Sun Basket, generating the final rating that reflects the overall quality of the company. Ratings may change as the service changes.

Meal Options
Variety
Nutritional Value
Portion Size
Flexibility
Price
Final Rating 9.9/10

User Reviews (45)

    Sun Basket user rating based on 45 user reviews.

    The reviews listed below reflect the opinions and experiences of real users and are in no way influenced by the meal delivery companies. Before publishing each review, our team checks whether it was submitted by an actual user in an effort to prevent false or spammy reviews.

  • Submitted By Dennis Hale on 08/31/2017
    I’ve tried 3 or 4 other food delivery services and Sun Basket is by far the best.
  • Submitted By Susan Peterson on 08/30/2017
    I was first a customer at Hello Fresh and after I couldn’t really make my kids eat all the meals, I switched to Sun Basket and the difference is obvious. Not so much for us grownups but the kids really like these meals. If you have kids, Sun basket’s the way to go
  • Submitted By Mike Stevens on 08/29/2017
    It’s cheaper having a subscription here than buying food at the store and then making it, but I’m not always 100% satisfied with the taste. Dunno maybe it’s just me.
  • Submitted By Tanya Strawinski on 08/27/2017
    I wouldn’t trade SunBasket for the world!!! They made my life so much easer and the food is brilliant!
  • Submitted By Nigel Moore on 08/25/2017
    I expected so much more. Have to say Im disappointed with the food quality.
  • Submitted By Anne Jennings on 08/23/2017
    I’m really happy with sun basket knowing that my family and me are eating the best food there is and that we rarely eat the same meals twice
  • Submitted By Anna Wilde on 08/22/2017
    Finally, healthy food my kids love! Thank you, Chef Justine! Sun Basket is the best!
  • Submitted By Dave Michaelson on 08/19/2017
    I choose Sun Basket because they are one of the rare companies of this kind to actually encourage recycling and taking care of the planet. For me, that’s super important and the fact that the food is great doesn’t hurt either
  • Submitted By Lisa Damon on 08/18/2017
    My mom bought me a subscription when I started living alone and I have to thank both her and Sun Basket. Seriously, though, I learned how to cook and can now prepare awesome meals for my friends and family on my own.
  • Submitted By Tom Mossbrucker on 08/16/2017
    I have not found the ingredients to be fresh like everyone seems to be saying on here. My last 2 deliveries had produce that was almost rotten. I am hoping that this is just a fluke because I like the recipes. SB is priced higher than most other similar delivery companies. For me it is only worth the price if all the ingredients are fresh.  Customer service was very nice and gave me a partial refund. If this continues to happen I will cancel.
  • Submitted By Tony White on 08/15/2017
    They’re OK nothing special
  • Submitted By Maria Lopez on 08/12/2017
    I like that Sun Basket is really creative with the recipes so I don’t have to eat the same food over and over again.
  • Submitted By Paul Norris on 08/11/2017
    They’d be perfect if they had free shipping.
  • Submitted By Peter Hollow on 08/08/2017
    Everything’s good except I often don’t like the meal I cook. It doesn’t happen too often but still…
  • Submitted By Christina Rodrigues on 08/05/2017
    It’s really nice food. My only problem – the shipping costs! I mean really they could offer free shipping to regular customers
  • Submitted By Steve Clark on 08/03/2017
    There is not a thing I don’t like! Sun Basket is really good!
  • Submitted By Sarah Phillips on 08/02/2017
    We order from Sun Basket every two or three weeks. The recipes are easy to follow, the ingredients are always super fresh and the great thing is – nothing goes to waste!
  • Submitted By Matt Young on 08/01/2017
    Tried it once, will cancel my order. The ingredients didn’t seem fresh to me and I still had a lot to do before eating.
  • Submitted By Allen Stone on 07/30/2017
    I received sun basket as a gift and I liked it. I never knew I could cook like that.
  • Submitted By Stephen Conrad on 07/27/2017
    Simply great food! Very convinient option, been ordering once a week usually. Don’t appreciate the additional fee for shipping though…
  • Submitted By Trisha Andersen on 07/24/2017
    I’ve been using delivery services for quite some time now, since I live alone and I don’t have enough time to cook myself. I’m really satisfied with Sun Basket and I think I’ll stick with them from now on, the level of service and the quality of food it’s just great!
  • Submitted By Tara Hudson on 07/21/2017
    As I like to tell my friends, once you try Sun Basket, you never go back. Hahasrsly they are just amazing
  • Submitted By Mark Carter on 07/19/2017
    Maybe it’s my lack of skills, but my meals look nothing like the pictures. I expected it to be easier.
  • Submitted By Rose Ferguson on 07/17/2017
    My daughter bought me this as a gift and I was hugely disappointed. These new generations want everything quick and that’s why the food tastes so horrible these days. No thank you I’ll stick to my own recipes and my own market.
  • Submitted By Debra Shirley on 07/15/2017
    Delicious is all I can say. Salmon dishes are superb!
  • Submitted By ZbigniewNowicki on 07/11/2017
    Ordered two times, both times ingredients not so fresh
  • Submitted By Joana Bailey on 07/03/2017
    Sun Basket is a dream come true for working moms. My kids are eating healthy and I spend more time with them since I can skip grocery shopping.
  • Submitted By Anne Richardson on 07/02/2017
    I don’t know what some of these people are complaining about! It doesn’t get better or cheaper than this! Sun Basket is perfect and I’d recommend it to anyone.
  • Submitted By Peter Dunn on 07/01/2017
    Awesome service for us single men. It’s sure easy to impress the ladies with these meals and my mom also thinks I learned how to cook, so yeah!
  • Submitted By Emma Lewis on 06/29/2017
    Food is unbelievably good! I’ve ordered from meal deliveries before and it usually was a big disappointment. I’ve decided to try SB just because I was very busy last month and just couldn’t imagine myself eating pizza 20 days in a row. And then SB happened, amazing! Just please, please, please, let us take more than 3 recipes a week with Classic!
  • Submitted By Joe Hawkins on 06/29/2017
    I had no idea that you actually pay for this and then have to cook your own meals. I mean seriously why would you do that???
  • Submitted By Josh Spencer on 06/25/2017
    I haven’t tried the other plans but the Family plan seriously rocks
  • Submitted By Tina Gardner on 06/20/2017
    Love their efforts to keep our planet safe <3
  • Submitted By Sarah Stephens on 06/19/2017
    Sun Basket is the best! I don’t think I’ve ever disliked one of their recipes and I really became a good cook thanks to them!
  • Submitted By Kevin Johnson on 06/11/2017
    I’m not much of a cook, but with SB recipes I manage to amaze my gf every time. I’d like it was a bit cheaper, but at least I don’t have to go to a restaurant to eat properly.
  • Submitted By Alex Nuriez on 06/06/2017
    I’m not a huge fan of cooking but Sun Basket really makes it so easy and my kids love the recipes
  • Submitted By Benjamin Brown, on 06/02/2017
    It’s so easy to make meal plans with Sun Basket. Their food really is organic and I love having nutritional info before me when I’m choosing my meals for the week. I just had a minor problem with the delivery, it was late a couple of times.
  • Submitted By George Jackson on 05/24/2017
    Great food and great service. I really enjoy making dinners following your recipes, it’s so easy and always beyond delicious.
  • Submitted By Natalie Dhal on 04/21/2017
    Amazing food, my family loves it! I’d just like some more options on the family menu, since my kids aren’t really thrilled with fancy dinners.
  • Submitted By Bridget Davidson on 01/05/2017
    Sun Basket is a revelation for me! I love cooking, but grocery shopping is my archenemy! So, SB is a win-win option for me. I get a chance to enjoy cooking without going through the agony of shopping for groceries.
  • Submitted By Jeffrey Williams on 10/08/2016
    I have been ordering from Sun Basket for quite some time and Chef Justine never seizes to amaze me. Plus, the ingredients are far better than anything I have ever bought on my own.
  • Submitted By Mary Mitchell on 09/12/2016
    The recipes are great, the food is great, but I really wish the prices were a bit lower. Still, ingredients as good as these are hard to come by and I love that you pre-measure everything, really speeds up the process.
  • Submitted By Aaron Patrick on 05/30/2016
    Just signed up for four-person plan. So far we’re really satisfied, great food for the whole family!
  • Submitted By Amy R. on 02/23/2016
    When they say fresh, they really mean fresh, didn’t know that veggies could be so green :D didn’t really look as gorgeous as the dishes in the pics, but sure was tasty! will be ordering again for sure
  • Submitted By Josh Adams on 02/15/2016
    Best spaghetti with shrimp ever, learned you can roast grapes :D All in all, great food, but please, stop charging for the shipping! 6 bucks I could spend on something better, like a greasy burger :P
  • Show More Reviews ...

Compare

If you like Sun Basket but aren’t sure whether they are truly the ideal choice for you, you may want to take a look at our comparisons below to discover if one of their competitors is more suitable for you.

Want to find out even more about Sun Basket?

Our Sun Basket resources are here to save you time on researching this famous meal delivery service. Get detailed reports, updates, and thorough analyses of the most important aspects of Sun Basket’s service. Our resources can help you learn more about

  • Sun Basket cost, including the prices of their meal plans, the cost of meals per serving, as well as shipping costs and other fees;
  • Sun Basket recipes, featuring an in-depth exploration of their offer, which lets you know exactly what you get and whether it is worth your time and money;
  • Sun Basket menu, which lets you discover the range of irresistible dishes waiting for you on Sun Basket weekly menus.
  • Sun Basket delivery area, which lets you quickly find out if this excellent meal kit service is available in your area;
  • Is Sun Basket organic, which offers a clear and detailed answer to this common question about the origin of Sun Basket ingredients;
  • Sun Basket introducing heart-check certified meals, containing fresh news about the latest heart-healthy additions to the Sun Basket Menu.
Sun Basket Review
Updated : 10.11.2017.
Rating : 9.9/10
Join our mailing list to receive exclusive updates, giveaways and coupon codes directly to your inbox.