Mom’s Meals is a meal delivery company that stands out compared to others in the sense that it’s focused primarily on people who are either unable to make meals for themselves while remaining independent (seniors, persons recovering from an illness or those suffering from a chronic one) or need a little bit of help and support in that department. The company started some 15 years ago in Iowa and today delivers all over America. Read our honest Mom’s Meals review to determine if this company is the right fit for you or your loved one. 

moms meals homepage

Interface And Presentation

Don’t expect anything too fancy from the Mom’s Meals website. It’s a very simple affair, with a design that is almost a bit dated but with a service like this, the design of the website is the last thing the company should care about. It’s the quality and efficiency of their service that matter, not fancy graphics and cool font. Still, the website is far from ugly and it’s definitely very clear and intuitive, which is very important considering that for many people who represent their target market, clarity and simplicity are essential.

What’s also very important is that the website provides extremely clear information on how to order meals. That info is divided into different sections for individuals and caregivers, agencies, community services working with government-funded meal programs, and healthcare providers.

There is also a blog with posts about healthy eating and healthy living, a FAQ section, a little bit of company history, and the order form.

Meal Options And Variety

Mom’s Meals ship meals to customers once or twice a week. You can have all your days covered or choose just a few of them per week. There’s also the “auto-ship” option so you don’t have to order meals each week.

Before you place an order, you are asked to provide some information about your health status and dietary requirements. Based on that, you will be offered a choice of meals that is quite impressive both in terms of recipes and in terms of variety. Of course, the options are not unlimited and there has to be some repetition, but there are definitely enough meal options to keep things interesting.

moms meals offer

Recipes And Programs

Since Mom’s Meals caters to people who usually have special dietary needs and require a certain type of diet to aid their recovery, it’s no surprise the company offers several different, carefully planned meal programs. There is the General Wellness menu with over 60 different meals, the Heart Friendly menu with low-sodium and low-fat recipes, the Diabetic-Friendly menu with no sugar and reduced carbs, the Renal-Friendly menu for people on dialysis, the Cancer Support menu, and the Pureed menu for people who have difficulty chewing and/or swallowing, as well as the Gluten-Free, Vegetarian, and Low Sodium menus. The programs are carefully designed with the help of experienced dietitians and the meals are prepared in USDA-inspected facilities.

The recipes are very imaginative too. There isn’t a lot of experimenting since nutrition is the number one goal here and it certainly comes before extraordinary culinary feats, but the customers say they are delicious, filling, and flavorful.

Some of the recipes provided by Mom’s Meals include Cheese Lasagna with Marinara, Coconut Curry Veggies with Brown Rice, Chili-Rubbed Beef Steak with Spanish Style Rice, Lemon Herb White Chicken with Wild Rice and Veggies, Pork Loin with Marsala, Fruit Breakfast Pizza, and many others.

moms meals


The prices vary depending on the number of meals you order per week, as well as on the kind of program you choose. Still, most meals cost $6.49 each, which comes to $19.47 per day for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The meals from the Pureed menu are somewhat more expensive and come up to $7.49 each. As for shipping and handling costs, the flat rate is $14.95 for orders of 7, 10, 14, and 21 meals. The more meals you order, the cheaper it gets, obviously, and considering that Mom’s Meals dishes stay fresh in the fridge for up to 14 days thanks to special European technology, the best value is to place the 21 meals per shipment order.

Delivery Areas

Mom’s Meals delivers to all of the continental United States. Like many other meal delivery services, it does not  deliver to Alaska and Hawaii yet.

While we are still very satisfied with Mom’s Meals we reviewed here, there are many better options that you can find on our Top 10 Meal Delivery Services list.

Mom's Meals Rating

Our ratings are the result of an objective and independent evaluation of Mom's Meals, generating the final rating that reflects the overall quality of the company. Ratings may change as the service changes.

Meal Options
Nutritional Value
Portion Size
Final Rating8.5/10

User Reviews (20)

    Mom's Meals user rating based on 20 user reviews.

    The reviews listed below reflect the opinions and experiences of real users and are in no way influenced by the meal delivery companies. Before publishing each review, our team checks whether it was submitted by an actual user in an effort to prevent false or spammy reviews.

  • Submitted By Brianna Kitson on 03/07/2018
    These meals are gross and my neighbor and boyfriend got food poisoning from them. I will not be giving any stars.
    Why were yoour NEIGHBOR & BOYFRIEND eating them. They're supposed to be for people in need.
  • Submitted By Rick Schloss 03/04/2018
    I received one week of twice daily meals. The food was the blandest I have had since the elementary cafeteria. The lack of seasoning, spices, garlic, etc. resulted in what I would call mid-western white food. The sloppy Joe tasted just like the goulash as did the spaghetti and meatballs. I was surprised when I read the ingredients. High fructose corn syrup as a sweetener! This is 2018... no company should use the word nutrition and high fructose corn syrup together in the same sentence. The best food was the prepackaged apple sauce that Mom's Meals did not make. I called my insurance company and cancelled the second shipment.
  • Submitted By Sabrina DiMaiolo on 02/23/2018
    My mother order some meals for my grandfather, they were supposed to be delivered on Thursday 2/22/18 but instead delivered a day early, which caused a great deal of stress for my almost 94 yr old GF. He tried the French Toast sticks and Omelette and had to throw it away, the stocks were like rubber and had no taste and the omelette also had no taste. Portions very small( 2 French roasts sticks) Will not be ordering again. I am not Giving any stars.
  • jeff on 03/02/2018
    How could delivering it a day early cause stress?. People love to complain about anything.....smh
  • Submitted By Chrissy Day on 02/09/2018
    The quality could be better, but these meals really mean a lot to our grandma, she can’t cook anymore and we are just happy we can do something for her, to make things a bit easier.
  • Submitted By Bradley Young on 01/29/2018
    I think that the greatest problem with moms meals is that you never know what you are going to get. Sometimes it’s great, sometimes it’s just sad. Don’t know if I’ll be ordering again.
  • Submitted By Edward Bia on 01/23/2018
    I received seven meals this week - the first meal I tried was the Turkey Breast w Apple Cranberry Sauce. The meal tasted OK but nothing to rave about. The picture of the meal shows two slices of turkey, My meal had one slice. My second meal was the Grilled Chicken Breast with Teriyaki Sauce - there may have been about a table spoon of sauce on the chicken - I added a packet of soy sauce I had to give it some flavor - also there was a problem with the plastic food container - it's didn't melt when I microwaved the meal, but it did fold in on itself forcing the vegetable into about half the compartment - I sent an email to Mom's. I still have five meals to go.
  • Submitted By Sharon Lynn Ford on 01/05/2018
    I think they are pricey. I like the selection though.
  • Submitted By Patricia Taylor on 08/25/2017
    All of the meals I bought had a bunch of water in the trays making them basically inedible.
  • Submitted By Sarah Hall on 08/21/2017
    The menu is pretty good but the quality varies from one meal to the next.
  • Submitted By Karen Nelson on 08/06/2017
    I've ordered mom's meals for my mother and they have quite the variety of meals to choose from.
  • Submitted By Dorothy Evans on 07/26/2017
    It's really annoying that they keep on substituting everything I order.
  • Submitted By Sharon Murphy on 07/25/2017
    Decent but I would like to see some gift certificates available in the future.
  • Submitted By Ruth Watson on 07/12/2017
    They are among lesser food deliveries I've tried so far. I can't say I'm surprised that there's no satisfaction guarantee of any kind.
  • Submitted By Dennis Perry on 07/07/2017
    I can't believe they're actually charging an extra buck for pureeing the meals.
  • Submitted By Peter Butler on 06/22/2017
    I didn't even realize they delivered their meals fresh not frozen so I didn't leave enough space in my fridge and couldn't put em in the freezer.
  • Submitted By Lucas Monroe on 05/08/2017
    Mom’s Meals are the best thing that happened to the modern world. Meals are healthy and tasty, and they save so much time and effort. I’m working for an advertising agency and I’m swamp with work all the time. My father leaves in the suburbs and I can’t manage to go over every day to bring him food, and resists to hire any kind of help. But thanks to Mom’s Meals I know he’s never hungry
  • Submitted By Amanda Neal on 04/04/2017
    My mom’s a diabetic and I work a lot so can’t go over to her place every day prepare special food for her. I was struggling to take good care of her and of my children at home at the same time and when you add work to all of that it can be pretty exhausting and difficult to manage. And then I’ve discovered Mom’s Meals. Now mom and I choose meals together and later on she receives them at her doorstep. She says she really likes the food although she prefers when I cook. :)
  • Submitted By carol ulmer on 02/09/2017
    I helped my neighbor order her meals. She absolutely loved them. Unfortunately she had to move to long term care
  • Show More Reviews ...

Mom's Meals Coupons

We found 0 verified Mom's Meals promo codes for March, 2018.

There’s no Mom's Meals coupons or discounts right now.


If you like Mom's Meals but aren’t sure whether they are truly the ideal choice for you, you may want to take a look at our comparisons below to discover if one of their competitors is more suitable for you.

Want to find out even more about Mom’s Meals?

We have an entire resource section dedicated to this unique meal delivery service. Whenever we stumble upon information about Mom’s Meals that is worth sharing, we write a post and add it to our collection of Mom’s Meals resources. At the moment, you can read about:

Mom's Meals Review
Updated :03.21.2018.
Rating : 8.5/10
Join our mailing list to receive exclusive updates, giveaways and coupon codes directly to your inbox.