Gousto Review

UPDATED March 23. 2020.
This website features affiliate links. For purchases made via these links, we earn commissions that allow us to keep producing helpful content. To find out more click here. Close

If you like being spoilt for choice, Gousto may be just the kind of meal kit service you have been searching for. This service offers a rich selection of recipes every week, ranging from vegetarian delights to meals for meat-loving gourmets. In this Gousto review, we will focus on the quality of its offer, the way its subscription works, and of course, the prices.

Gousto homepage

What Is Gousto

Gousto is a meal kit service that provides carnivore, pescatarian, vegetarian, plant-based, and allergen-free recipes and fresh, sustainably sourced ingredients. It allows you to cook your meals in as little as 10 minutes.

If you want to order Gousto recipes and ingredients, you first need to subscribe. However, there is no need to worry about being stuck with a subscription, as the folks behind Gousto emphasize that ordering from this service comes with no strings attached. You can pause or end your subscription whenever you want. You can sign up for recurring deliveries and make additional one-off orders whenever you want. You are the one in control of your subscription.

In comparison to most meal kit services, the Gousto menu boasts twice as many recipes suitable for various skill levels and dietary preferences. With this service, you can build your weekly menu with ease regardless of potential restrictions and dislikes. You can decide how many servings you want each recipe to yield and order more food when you are having guests. Finally, you can choose to spend anywhere between several minutes and a whole hour in the kitchen.

Due to the quality of its ingredients, the range of meal options it offers every week, and the level of personalization it provides, Gousto is often regarded as one of the best meal kit services in the UK. It is a simple solution for healthy eating that does not cost too much and makes cooking and meal planning easier than ever.

How Does Gousto Work

As a Gousto subscriber, you get to choose any 2, 3 or 4 recipes from the company’s rich menu, which includes 40 recipes per week. The recipes and the ingredients they call for are delivered to your doorstep every week, on the day that works for you.

Gousto offers 2-Person boxes that are, as the name suggests, suitable for 2 people, and Family boxes, created to suit the dietary needs of 2 adults and 2 or 3 children, depending on their age and appetite. The portions are ample, which guarantees that the meals will satisfy the appetites of the vastest majority of customers.

What is interesting to note is that you can order up to 3 boxes per week, which is not something all meal kit services offer. Furthermore, you can order the same recipe multiple times, that is, increase the amount of ingredients/number of servings, which is perfect for occasions when you are having friends over for dinner.

What Makes Gousto Different

What makes Gousto a great meal kit service is the fact that it offers incredible convenience, the ultimate freshness of ingredients, creative and unique recipes, amazing variety, and wonderful flexibility, all at highly reasonable prices. It does not impose any annoying limitations and it is completely transparent about ingredient sourcing, subscription terms, and pricing, with no additional or hidden fees.

Gousto how-work

As suggested previously in this Gousto review, the service offers a greater range of recipes than most meal kit services on the market. It also pays special attention to special dietary needs, with great selections of veggie, dairy-free, and gluten-free dishes. It aims to please and does everything possible to allow you to enjoy cooking more and make it less of a chore.

Gousto Meals And Recipes

Gousto meal options
For Families
Gluten-Free
Vegan
Vegetarian

Previously in this Gousto review, we have mentioned that you can choose between the 2-Person and Family boxes with 2, 3 or 4 recipes. No matter which box type you choose, you can select your recipes from the same menu that includes about 40 incredible meal ideas every week.

Gousto meal

The recipes are conveniently categorized, so you can easily find what you are craving. You can opt for everyday favorites, go with the speedy, 10-minute options, view the selection of vegetarian or plant-based dishes, choose meals without gluten or dairy, explore dishes that feature fish, chicken, beef or pork or check out the company’s healthy choices. In every category, there are at least 3-4 recipes, so you have plenty of options at your disposal regardless of your current cravings or special dietary needs.

Gousto meals

Most of the meals take 10-40 minutes to make and the preparation is always simple. For every recipe, you get information on the ingredients, calorie count, amount of fats, saturated fats, carbs, sugars, fibers, proteins, and salt, as well as allergens, and you can see which cuisine the dish belongs to. Of course, just like any other meal kit company, Gousto does not deliver the essentials like oil, salt, pepper, and flour, but every recipe contains information on the basic ingredients you should have in your pantry.

Due to the quality of its ingredients, the range of meal options it offers every week, and the level of personalization it provides, Gousto is often regarded as one of the best meal kit services in the UK. It is a simple solution for healthy eating that does not cost too much and makes cooking and meal planning easier than ever.

How Much Does Gousto Cost

With Gousto, the cost of your delivery depends on the recipe box type you pick and the number of recipes you order per week. The price per serving ranges from £2.98 to £6.25. If you order more food, you pay less per serving. Shipping is always free.

The 2-Person box with 2 recipes costs £24.99 (£6.25 per serving). The price of the 2-Person box with 3 recipes is £29.99 (£5 per serving). The 2-Person box with 4 recipes costs £34.99 (£4.37 per serving).

gousto prices

Family boxes are much more affordable. The Family box with 2 recipes costs £31.75 (£3.97 per serving). The Family box with 3 recipes costs £42.75 (£3.56 per serving). The price of the Family box with 4 recipes is £47.75 (only £2.98 per serving).

Where Does Gousto Deliver

Gousto ships its recipe boxes to addresses within the mainland UK. However, even in this part of the country, there are some areas that are outside Gousto’s delivery map. The company is working on solutions that would allow it to expand its coverage.

At the moment, Gousto does not ship to: AB30 – AB39, AB41 – AB45, AB51 – AB56, AB99, BT, FK18 – FK21, GY, HS1 – HS9, IM, IV1 – IV28, IV30 – IV32, IV36, IV40 – IV49, IV51 – IV56, IV63, JE, KA27 – KA28, KW1 – KW3, KW5 – KW17, PA20 – PA38, PA41 – PA49, PA60 – PA78, PA80, PH15 – PH26, PH30 – PH44, PH49 – PH50, PO30 – PO41, TR21 – TR25, and ZE1 – ZE3.

On the other hand, the great news is that you can have your box delivered on any day of the week. Deliveries made between 8 am and 7 pm come with free shipping and you do not have to be at home to receive your package. In certain areas, you can choose to have your order delivered before noon or in the evening, between 6 pm and 10 pm. Such deliveries come with an additional £2.99 fee.

Gousto Pros And Cons

To make sure Gousto meets all your standards and expectations, it is important to know its biggest advantages and disadvantages. With a short overview of its pros and cons, you can easily decide if Gousto is the right meal kit service for you.

Pros
  • Immense variety of recipes
  • Fresh, quality ingredients
  • Variety of options for special diets
  • Incredibly flexible subscription
  • Reasonable prices

Cons

  • Limited delivery area

Sample Dishes

If you subscribe to Gousto, you can easily prepare culinary masterpieces using only the ingredients and recipes found in your meal kit box. You may not be a pro chef just yet, but with Gousto, you can easily make restaurant-grade meals. You don’t have to take our word for it – check out the images below to get a better idea of the types of dishes you can enjoy with Gousto.

Bottom Line

As you may have noticed from our Gousto review, we really loved this meal delivery company. It offers a vast range of exciting recipes designed to suit different preferences and dietary needs, provides fresh, flavorful ingredients, and allows you to customize your subscription so it perfectly suits your needs and schedule. What is also important, the prices are more than reasonable and shipping is free. If you love cooking for yourself and your loved ones but wish it could be a bit easier and less time-consuming, Gousto can provide all the help you need without making a dent in your budget.


Gousto FAQ

Is Gousto worth it?

Gousto offers a broad range of excellent recipes, delivers fresh ingredients of premium quality, and allows its patrons to customize their subscriptions according to their needs. The prices are reasonable and the company provides free shipping.

How to cancel Gousto?

You can cancel your order until noon 3 days before your delivery day. Log into your Gousto account and select the Deliveries tab to see your upcoming boxes. Choose the order you wish to cancel and click on Cancel Order. You can read our blog post on how to cancel Gousto to discover more.

What companies are like Gousto?

The top alternatives to Gousto include Mindful Chef, HelloFresh UK, Abel & Cole, and SimplyCook.

What are the delivery times with Gousto?

Gousto delivers to much of the mainland UK seven days a week. Subscribers can choose their preferred delivery day. Boxes arrive anywhere from 8am–7pm. In some areas, there is an option to choose morning or evening delivery.

View All FAQs

User Reviews (20)

Gousto is rated 3.5/5, based on 20 user reviews.

The Gousto reviews listed below reflect the opinions and experiences of real users and are in no way influenced by the dating site reviewed here. Before publishing each review, our team checks whether it was submitted by an actual user in an effort to prevent false or spammy reviews.

  1. | March 8, 2020

    Quick to make, easy to prepare, ingredients seem fresh, price is good, the taste is so so. ⅘ which is not that bad.

  2. | January 29, 2020

    The price-quality ratio is excellent! You can’t find a healthy meal for 6 pounds for a person anywhere. I dn’t mind cooking on my own, especially considering it takes around 15 min max to make anything I’ve ordered so far, I’m impressed!

  3. | January 20, 2020

    The box containing food for 2 adults and 2-3 children is not proportionate and I’m always missing food and there’s only four of us. I think they should reconsider the portions or at least realize that adults need more food than children. It’s very tasty and easy to make though!

  4. | January 5, 2020

    It really takes 10 min to make the tastiest meals ever, I was very surprised I managed to pull that out! Gusto is a lifesaver for all those who would like to eat good but don’t have the tiem to slave over a stove for a few hours.
    5

  5. | October 17, 2019

    I don’t understand the concept of giving someone all those ingredients just so they can mess it up by not doing a good job preparing them right. I paid less than I would do in a restaurant for, supposedly, same quality meal but it doesn’t taste the same at all, when is made by me. It maybe sounds like a good idea but it’s not!

  6. | October 12, 2019

    Gousto is how I learned to cook the easy way! 😀 Everything I’ve made so far has been delicious! I think it’s Gusto, not me! 😀

  7. | September 3, 2019

    It’s great that you can order single or multiple servings for guests and that there are no quantity restrictions per order and each time you order it can be different.

  8. | August 13, 2019

    Have been using Gousto for nearly three years now. Absolute life changer. There is so much variation in the meals, tasty and the portions are really satisfying. Good quality produce and even deliver on a Sunday for the week ahead. We cheated on Gousto with mindful chef for two weeks (introductory offer) – wish we hadn’t bothered. Meals not as nice and portions not as big. In terms of plastic packaging – it’s about the same so am returning to Gousto.

  9. | August 12, 2019

    I ordered my first box with 3 average meals. In a week time I noticed that £29.99 left my account again for another 3 meals. I believe I chose the ‘one off option’, therefore quickly checked my account to realise that they not only charged me for recipes that I did not choose or want, but it is coming in 3 days time and I cannot do anything about it.

    I straight away cancelled my account and requested a refund explaining the situation. Joshua out of the customer service team answered me saying that it was well explained what I signed up for and that I received an email to choose the new recipes, but as I did not choose anything, the chef went ahead and chose the new meals based on my preferences. He also said they are unable to give me a refund, but could give me 30 % back as a good will gesture.

    First of all: I chose a one off order, therefore no it is not fair to go ahead and charge me every week for something that I did not sign up for.
    Also, when I got an email to choose the meals I thought it was just them trying to get me to order again. I would have never imagined that they have the cheek to choose recipes for me and go like: since you did not choose, here you go.
    And the cheekiest of it all is him saying ‘based on your preferences’.
    My first box only consisted meals that are vegetarian and pescetarian, because that is what I am. Then they chose spaghetti bolognese and chicken curry and say it is based on my preference is a bit out of order and very disrespectful.

    I will not take the box, thank you very much. They can keep my money, if they need it that much, but no thank you, I do not want to receive something that I DID NOT ORDER. What should I do with meat? Highly unprofessional.

    If the box is attempted to be delivered, I will refuse to take it. Disgusting customer service. It is a shame because I might have given it another go at some point, but now I will tell everyone how ridiculous of a company this is.

  10. | August 8, 2019

    Got some credit for referencing my friend. The credit had no expiration date, but they took it off anyway after 3 months. First they tried to convince me that I always knew the credit would expire, then when I showed them the email that they sent me saying otherwise they conveniently stopped replying. Too bad, I was happy to turn a blind eye to their many shortcomings, but not this kind of shady behaviour.

  11. | August 5, 2018

    I’ve just recently heard about Gousto and decided to give them a shot. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of service and the variety of the recipes. I especially like that I can order as much ingredients as I need. They do not limit me like other services of this kind (I was a Hello Fresh customer before discovering Gousto) and they really seem to care about their customers. Well done!

  12. | July 29, 2018

    Never had a problem with Gousto, and I’ve been a customer for almost a year now. The deliveris always arrive on time, there are no missing ingredients, and the recipes are first class! I feel like a star in the kitchen every time, really there are no words to describe just how good they are. The best on the market, I swear.

  13. | July 21, 2018

    Don’t bother with this company. The premise is that your order meals and the ingredients arrive on a nominated day for you to make the meals. Problems arise when the box doesn’t arrive. Mine was delivered to the wrong address and the company’s response was that they would refund me the cost of the box (this is actually a legal obligation under Consumer Law, where you are not obliged to pay for goods or services not received) and give me some discount on a future order (risk the same experience again?)… never mind the fact that I had no food delivered for the week ahead. Their solution was that I could reorder it and it would take another 4 days to arrive. Presumably, there is no possibility of actually trying to remedy the inconvenience but replacing the lost order within 24 hours.Chose instead to cancel my membership and return to the supermarket. Would advise you not to rely on them to provide your meals.

    • Elose | February 8, 2019

      Reasonable response from Gousto. Appreciate your frustration but not sure it’s a rational action.

  14. | July 12, 2018

    Very disappointed. Their product is ok, but their customer service is horrendous – we had a delivery go missing, I had to chase three times, with promises of people getting back to me, and then then didn’t. They wouldn’t have refunded me if I didn’t chase them, and their compensation of half a box discount is far less than they offer to new customers. Very disappointed and would no longer recommend

  15. | March 9, 2018

    I have only recently tried Gousto, my first delivery was great. The choice was good and portions were perfect.
    However my second week has not been good at all it did not turn up – it was during the snow which I understood the problems, I tracked my delivery online it did not arrive on the day of delivery but thought it would arrive the following day. It had been sent back by DPD as it was damaged. What I am annoyed about is that I have not had 1 email from Gousto about this, I emailed 3 times getting an automated response to say they will be in touch but were busy,
    I would not recommend due to lack of Customer care and try Hello fresh instead.

    • Anna | July 13, 2018

      Good luck with hello fresh you,ll need it i have used both Gousto and Hello Fresh in the past . Gousto customer service outshines Hello Fresh . I had a recipe box from Hello Fresh the contents were not only badly packaged and damaged Two of the ingredients to make the dishes were missing, When i finally got a response from Hello Fresh it was not helpful offering another discount does not make up for an incomplete box ,Fortunately as a retired chef i can modify a recipe to suit however most people would order a food box in order not to shop.

  16. | February 28, 2018

    I don’t like to give people bad reviews without first giving them a chance to make it right. A very dishonest young lady knocked on my door selling Gousto food. I explained to her I am leaving the country and don’t eat processed food anyway. However, as I was once a door to door salesperson in my youth I wanted to support her and ordered ONE package. I made it VERY CLEAR I DID NOT want to be put on an automatic debit and did not want anything past this first order. After many emails to you without even the courtesy of a response you are still sending me packages and still charging my card. Your last box is still sitting on the doorstep waiting for you to collect it, it has not been opened. Now you are forcing me to have to waste time going to my bank in order to stop your orders. PLEASE stop it and refund my money.

    • Flora Karo | March 7, 2018

      Hi, I am a Gousto’s customer, I would describe it as a semi-regular, as I do not order every week.. It depends on my workload. Anyway, I came across of your review and I think your review is not honest and/or possibly your have poor knowledge of what type of food is classified as processed. The food is fresh and you have to cook from scratch so it is not the Iceland type food you are trying to give up. I order only vegetarian food and all products are fresh with plenty of vegetables. The Gousto service is to deliver the customers premeasured high quality ingredients for recipes that you can choose in advance so you can have/ try the interesting food without the burden of shopping and to think what to cook. I had previously contacted Gousto by email and did not experience ‘no reply’. There is also a dedicated customer phone number which I used in the past and I had no trouble to speak to anyone. As I do not order every week I can easily manage my account via the app and skip deliveries if they are not needed for the particular week. I think you might have the problem with the self- management and have trouble to sort simple things out. I can’t imagine that in the 21st century you need to go to bank to deal with reccuring payment problem. Nowadays, you need to be more resourceful Internet,phone…hello? Hopefully, the food did not get processed on your doorsstep while waiting for collection.

  17. | August 20, 2017

    I’ve been ordering from Gousto for months now and honestly cannot imagine going back to doing everything on my own. I’ve tried a couple of services before, not going to name them now, but Gousto is the only one that really made me happy I chose it.

  18. | June 30, 2017

    I guess there are people who like to go to the market themselves, touch every vegetable before buying it, but I am a simple gall who likes to keep things simple and Gousto is by far the best choice I’ve ever made food-wise.

  19. | May 6, 2017

    I chose Gousto because it offers a lot of vegetarian recipes. Generally, its rather good, but I have to be honest and say I wasn’t fascinated by every recipe I got. Still, the choice is never disappointing and the prices are ok.

  20. | March 14, 2017

    Definitely the best recipe boxes I’ve tried so far.

Leave a review

Your email address will not be published.

* All the prices on this website are subject to change without notice. While we put a great deal of effort into making sure that all the prices are accurate, one or more products may have outdated prices. Please visit the specific product’s official website for exact prices.
Join our mailing list to receive exclusive updates, giveaways and coupon codes directly to your inbox.