Daily Harvest Review

UPDATED March 30. 2020.
This website features affiliate links. For purchases made via these links, we earn commissions that allow us to keep producing helpful content. To find out more click here. Close

Daily Harvest was founded in 2014 by Rachel Drori, a hard-working mom from New York who needed an easier way to get her hands on delicious smoothies that would keep her fit and healthy. Today, Rachel is an expert on superfood, bringing you a vast range of quick and tasty solutions for a healthy diet. If you feel like you may be craving what she’s offering, you can find out all about her superfood wonders in this Daily Harvest review.

Homepage Daily Harvest

How Daily Harvest Works

Daily Harvest is a subscription service that allows you to choose between 2 subscription options, depending on your needs. You can opt for a weekly subscription and receive 6, 9, 12 or 24 cups of flash-frozen, unrefined, organic ingredients on a weekly basis or decide on a monthly subscription that brings you 24 cups of superfood goodness.

Apart from picking the number of cups you wish to receive, you also get to pick the recipes you like. You can order cupfuls of ingredients perfect for smoothies, harvest bowls, lattes, sundaes, chia parfaits, soups or delicious overnight oats. There are around 40 options at your disposal, all perfectly healthy and extremely good for you. We will talk about them in greater detail in the Meals And Recipes section of this Daily Harvest review.

The subscriptions are as flexible as they can be. You can change the number of cups you want to receive, skip a week of deliveries or cancel your subscription whenever you wish, as long as you do it before the weekly cutoff time (Saturday, 6 p.m. EST).

Daily Harvest how it work

What Makes Daily Harvest Different

There are many meal deliveries out there claiming to offer healthy meals made of premium-quality ingredients. However, most of them still use refined goods and flavor enhancers to make their food taste better. Daily Harvest does nothing to diminish the nutritional value of the produce it uses. There are no refined ingredients and everything in the cups is completely natural and devoid of any potentially harmful substances.

Daily Harvest takes healthy eating seriously, which is why it has an in-house chef and an in-house nutritionist working together to create perfect combinations of equally perfect ingredients. All of the recipes they come up with are incredibly nutritious and healthy, but they are also incredibly flavorful and satisfying. Their job is to show Daily Harvest customers that food that is good for you can taste amazing and they excel at what they do.

Frozen food is something many people dread, with all the poor-quality frozen meals giving it a bad name. Daily Harvest works hard on proving that frozen food can be just as good as the fresh kind. The ingredients used for its recipes are picked at peak maturity and flash-frozen in order to keep all the valuable nutrients inside, so none of the goodness is lost in the process. Keep in mind that the content of the cups is not meant to be defrosted. Use them fresh from the box or your freezer, so you can make the most out of their healthy content.

The gift of food is possibly the best gift of all, especially if it’s super-healthy, delicious, and comes in a handy cup. You can send Daily Harvest gift cards to the people you care about and allow them to pick the smoothies and soups they want to have delivered to their doorstep. A healthy, handy, instant gift practically anyone would appreciate.

Another wonderful feature of the Daily Harvest menu is its suitability for various special dietary needs. Read more about this in the following section of this Daily Harvest review.

Meals and Recipes

Daily Harvest meal options
For Singles
Gluten-Free
Organic
Paleo
Vegan
Vegetarian

As mentioned before in this Daily Harvest review, no matter which subscription plan you choose, you get to pick what you eat. All menu items are at your disposal, all of them including 100% natural, non-GMO, organic ingredients. Before you choose a cup, you can read detailed information about each ingredient and feel even better about your choice, knowing it can do wonders for your body.

meals Daily Harvest

At the moment, Daily Harvest offers 40+ different recipes: 17 smoothies, 6 harvest bowls, 3 chia parfaits, 3 different overnight oats, 3 lattes, 6 sundaes, and 6 soups. They come in pre-portioned, single-serving cups ready to be popped into the freezer or enjoyed the same day.

When it comes to preparation, it comprises 2 simple steps – add liquid of your choice and blend, soak or heat. You can combine your smoothie cups with water or milk of any kind (coconut, almond, dairy, you name it), add the base of your choice to your soups, and turn any cup into whatever you want it to be. Your delicious meal is ready in minutes, with hardly any work and without any mess to clean up.

Daily Harvest Mulberry Dragon fruit

While doing research for this review of Daily Harvest, we were happy to see that the recipes are perfect for all kinds of special diets. They are all vegan-friendly and most bowls are suitable for the Paleo and vegetarian diets. The Daily Harvest menu also features dairy-free, gluten-free, and soy-free options. Soon, it will also be kosher-certified and fully organic-certified. Unfortunately, if you are allergic to any of the ingredients, there is nothing Daily Harvest can do about it at the moment – the recipes cannot be altered to accommodate your needs.

Pricing

If you opt for weekly deliveries of 6 cups, you pay $7.99 per cup. 9 cups per week cost $7.75 per cup. Weekly deliveries of 12 cups come at the price of $7.49 per cup. Both the weekly and monthly subscriptions of 24 cups cost $6.99 per cup. Shipping is always free, so you only end up paying for what you eat.

Daily-Harvest Pricing
Weekly Plan
Cups per weekPrice per weekPrice per cup
6$47.94$7.99
9$69.75$7.75
12$89.88$7.49
24$167.76$6.99

Delivery Areas

At the moment, Daily Harvest delivers to 95% of the US. Unfortunately, it does not deliver to Alaska and Hawaii. You can check whether it is available in your place of residence by clicking the Get Started button on the homepage of the Daily Harvest website and entering your zip code. In case it is not on the list of delivery areas, the company promises to let you know as soon as they start delivering in your area.

You get to choose the delivery day that works best for you. You do not have to sign for your delivery and it can wait for you on your doorstep until you come home to pick it up.

Pros And Cons

To make sure Daily Harvest meets all your standards and expectations, it is important to know its biggest advantages and disadvantages. With a short overview of its pros and cons, you can easily decide if Daily Harvest is the right meal delivery service for you.

Pros
  • Natural, organic, non-GMO ingredients
  • Recipes developed by an in-house chef and nutritionist
  • Flexible subscriptions
  • Free shipping
  • Dairy-free, gluten-free, and soy-free recipes
  • Most bowls suitable for the Paleo diet
  • Perfect for vegans and vegetarians

Cons

  • No customization for allergies
  • Does not ship to Hawaii and Alaska

Sample Dishes

Daily Harvest features an impressive collection of items in its offer. To get a better idea of what you will receive in your delivery, check out our curated selection of the items you can enjoy with Daily Harvest.

Bottom Line

Daily Harvest food can best be described as a world of flavors, colors, and nutrients in a cup. This company allows you to eat healthy without all the usual hassle. It picks the best ingredients possible, all 100% natural and unrefined, and combines them in incredibly creative and innovative ways. Basically, it offers a quick, simple, and perfectly convenient way for you to give your body all the nutrients it needs while enjoying food that looks and tastes amazing. It is not too expensive either and the shipping is always free, so there is nothing standing between you and a healthy diet. Be sure to give this one a shot.


Daily Harvest FAQ

How can I cancel Daily Harvest?

Log into your account and click Edit Plan in the bottom right corner. Choose the Cancel My Plan option in the pop-up window. Complete the brief survey and select Submit and Cancel My Plan. Your account information is removed upon cancelation.

Is Daily Harvest healthy?

Daily Harvest uses 100% natural, non-GMO, organic ingredients. Its recipes are highly nutritious and healthy. They are built entirely on fruit and vegetables and they do not contain any additives, preservatives or fillers.

Where can I find nutritional information for Daily Harvest recipes?

Nutritional information for every Daily Harvest recipe can be found on the product webpage under the Ingredients & Nutrition Facts tab, as well as on the side of each individual cup.

Are Daily Harvest products Whole30-compliant?

Most of Daily Harvest products contain Whole30-compliant ingredients.

What is the best Daily Harvest alternative?

The best Daily Harvest alternative is Green Blender.

What are the best Daily Harvest smoothies?

Daily Harvest’s best-selling smoothies include Strawberry + Peach and Mint + Cacao.

Is Daily Harvest keto-friendly?

The Daily Harvest menu features several keto-friendly harvest bowls and soups.

Where can I buy Daily Harvest smoothies in stores?

Daily Harvest smoothies are exclusively available for online purchase. You can order them via the company’s official website.

How many calories do Daily Harvest shakes contain?

Daily Harvest offers smoothies that contain 40-290 calories per serving.

Where is Daily Harvest packaged?

Daily Harvest has 3 fulfillment centers in the USA. They are located in the Midwest, the East Coast, and the West Coast.

View All FAQs

User Reviews (47)

Daily Harvest is rated 3.5/5, based on 47 user reviews.

The Daily Harvest reviews listed below reflect the opinions and experiences of real users and are in no way influenced by the dating site reviewed here. Before publishing each review, our team checks whether it was submitted by an actual user in an effort to prevent false or spammy reviews.

  1. | July 30, 2019

    I have been enjoying Daily-Harvest so much, I now have a second plan. One monthly and one weekly and I do skip some weeks. The cups are so convenient and ready in five minutes or less. The superfoods are mostly organic and the recipes have some ingredients that I was unfamiliar with but most are very tasty. This is a great way to get more produce into your diet!

  2. | July 24, 2019

    I have been getting Daily-Harvest deliveries for several months now and have tried soups, oat bowls, harvest bowls and smoothies. There have only been a couple of flavors that I did not like and that is just personal preference. The ingredients are mostly organic and the recipes are really good! It is very convenient having something in the freezer that only takes a couple of minutes to prepare. This is definitely a great way to get more produce into your diet.

  3. | June 21, 2019

    I absolutely love Daily Harvest it has completely changed my life in such a positive way. By eating their harvest bowls during the week, when I’m the busiest working full time, I have lost weight and am keeping it off. I don’t even feel like I’m on a diet. The variety is my favorite part, whether I’m craving Thai, Italian, etc they have an option to choose from. Not only that, I can trust that the ingredients are nutrient dense and almost all organic! The fact that I no longer have to go to the market and attempt to put together a healthy side to go along with my protein option has saved so much time and wasted produce that ends up going uneaten.

  4. | June 20, 2019

    I know DH prides itself on making healthy eating easy ~ and they definitely do that. Originally, because they are marketed as “healthy” I didn’t expect them to be all that good but with each one I try I’m like, “Wow, this is pretty dang good.” It’s easy to eat healthy when something is tasty. When you open the cup you can see whole fresh ingredients right there at the top. I dunno about you but I’m not gonna buy all these ingredients separately from a store to make a bowl or smoothie. You’re bound to have leftover this or that and I’m not about to store all that just to have it go bad in the fridge. I love having everything portioned out perfectly so nothing goes to waste. And it’s hand delivered to my door? Yes, Please !! For anyone on the fence about trying Daily Harvest I suggest you give it a whirl

  5. | May 18, 2019

    I am a real person and this service is super convenient for me. I so not have time nor the desire to go shopping each week for the perfect foods to combine together for excellent taste, health and that will not go bad. I’m on my second shipment and living it. Also I live in Northern VA where a smoothy can cost $10 and a salad can cost $12 – this is a steal.

    Seems like negative reviews are for people who don’t know how to adhere to the cancellation pr change cut off times each week. People need to learn to take responsibility when they don’t follow instructions or try to make changes after the very clear specified time frames. SMH take those negative reviews with a grain of salt and meanwhile enjoy super convenient food with hardly any dishes to clean or wasted food.

  6. | May 16, 2019

    Dissatisfied. You have to download their app in order to accurately handle the subscription and if you do it on your phone using the website, your changes for some reason don’t save correctly. I asked for a refund that I would not even received because it would be delivered to a home where I do not live but took a vacation to and was not refunded my money in full for meals I would never receive. To me that was incredulous. I have told my husband to cancel his subscription that is delivered to our prime residence and my 2 friends have cancelled their subscriptions. We would have kept all subscriptions if they would have refunded me my money.

  7. | May 11, 2019

    not a fan at all of this product. some smoothies are ‘ok’. soups and bowls are tasteless.
    good marketing to entice you. very expensive yet not satisfying. ordered my first shipment a year ago. still have cups in the freezer from a year ago. cant get myself to eat them. feel bad about throwing away $$s

  8. | April 23, 2019

    I am waiting for the delivery of my second monthly daily-harvest box. There were a few cups in my first box that I didn’t like and won’t order again. Overall, the recipes were very good and full of organic superfoods. Some had a combination of ingredients that I would never have put together and I was surprised how tasty they were. What I like most about Daily-Harvest is the convenience. When I come home from work I can open the freezer and choose something for dinner that is healthy and ready in minutes! If I tried to purchase the ingredients and prepare these meals myself, I would have leftover ingredients that would spoil before I could use them. Having Daily-Harvest in the freezer is the way to go!! Please use code RE-424KKBV for three free cups.

  9. | March 30, 2019

    My favorite part of my DH membership is knowing I’ll be getting fresh ingredients in every cup. When you open the cup you can see whole fresh ingredients right there at the top. I dunno about you but I’m not gonna buy all these ingredients separately from a store to make a bowl or smoothie. You’re bound to have leftover this or that and I’m not about to store all that just to have it go bad in the fridge. I love having everything portioned out perfectly so nothing goes to waste. And it’s hand delivered to my door? Yes, Please !! ** Use code RE-D4LY7L4 to get yourself 3 free cups of whatever you want **

  10. | March 14, 2019

    I personally love daily harvest – when I was getting ready for my wedding last summer I had minimal time to prepare healthy dishes or meals. I turned to daily harvest and replaced one meal per day with a smoothie and this was just what I needed. Healthy meals, I lost some weight, and stayed powered and strong through a hectic time in life! I highly recommend Daily Harvest; I order from them often now. If you wanna give it a shot, you can get 3 free cups! Code: RE-7ADVDL4

  11. | March 9, 2019

    On my second order from Daily Harvest and I am very happy with the product. Fast prep, healthy and tasty food !
    I ordered a variety to see what which ones I would reorder. So far I have liked everything and they have been filling.
    Customer service has been good, and they have been prompt when I’ve asked questions.
    As for the cost, I have bought smoothies for the past several years, as well as made my own. These are slightly cheaper than others in the store and these SAVE MY TIME as I’m not running to the store every day for fresh produce and the prep time is so much LESS compared to making it on my own. I even got a subscription sent for my daughter.

  12. | February 22, 2019

    HORRIBLE PRODUCTS AND CUSTOMERS SERVICE..!
    FIRST OF ALL THEY DO A GREAT MARKETING AND PACKAGING TO MAKE SURE YOU GET FOOL.. THE PRODUCT ITSELF IS NOT ORGANIC AND YOU BARELY GET ANY TASTE OF THE MAIN INGREGIENT..( THE AVOCADO SMOOTHIE..? ONLY HAS TWO LITTLE PIECE OF AVOCADO.. SO FORGET THE TASTE)
    ALL THE PRODUCT HAVE REALLY BAD QUALITY AND BEFORE YOU ORDER MAKE SURE YOU DONT GET HOOK UP ON THEIR SUBSCRIPTION OR YOU WILL FIND ANOTHER PACKAGE IN FRONT OF YOUR DOOR THE WEEK AFTER…! SAVE YOU MONEY HEALTH AND TIME DONT BUY FROM THEM IT A SCAM!!!!

  13. | September 6, 2018

    Been using the service for 6+ months and am satisfied with ALL the products. The service is easy to use and making changes to your subscription is a piece of cake, so I don’t get it why so many people have a hard time changing their orders. To be fair, I only skipped a couple of weeks so far, so I don’t know what’s the problem with cancelations. Definitely recommend the company to everyone who wants to eat healthier and feel better about themselves.

  14. | September 4, 2018

    Amazed with how good and healthy these cups are! The company makes it so easy to have tasty superfoods at hand whenever you need them. I love everything about them, and I feel much better knowing I eat more healthy than before.

  15. | September 3, 2018

    Joining the Daily Harvest dissatisfied customers. I will not make a big deal about the fact that I didn’t care for the food, we all have different tastes. I will say that it’s not at all a good value, for the cost per “meal” I would have expected more. Also going to jump on the bandwagon about the poor customer service. I tried to cancel an order on a Sunday and was very surprised to receive a reply – Which means they had plenty of time to cancel considering it wasn’t going to ship until Tuesday (based on the actual tracking) Unfortunately, the reply was basically “too bad”. They claim their kitchen is on a tight schedule. Umm, this is frozen food people! You’ll freeze it and cook a little less next week. $90 in the trash with the food.

  16. | September 1, 2018

    Daily Harvest is the best! I just don’t understand why so many people keep complaining when the service is really as good as advertised (the cups are to die for!!!!). I’ve been a loyal customer for 4 months now and I don’t plan on canceling any time soon.

  17. | July 13, 2018

    If I could give this company zero stars I would! Absolutely worst customer service on the planet. They say that they are open on the weekends but clearly show that they are closed. You can’t call anyone and takes well over 24hrs to get a response by email. They don’t even send an email when your next shipment is coming up just in case you want to stop the shipment.BECAUSE I AM SUPPOSED TO REMEMBER THAT ON TOP OF REAL LIFE PRIORITIES?!?!? Canceling this plan is absolute NIGHTMARE! Do yourself a favor and NEVER sign up with them. Did I mention that they are the rudest people ever?

  18. | July 13, 2018

    No customer support to speak of. I sent in an email and also requested a phone call (can not call directly). No one ever got back to me.

    I received my first order totally defrosted . There was absolutely no dry ice left in the shipping box. I doubted the safety of the contents. Certainly was not worth risking my health. I have put a hold on my subscription as I could not find a way to straight out cancel it.

  19. | July 3, 2018

    Terribly disappointed in their customer service! Referred a friend, but after my incident on a mission to let everyone know.

  20. | July 3, 2018

    I have been reading tons of reviews on the poor customer service people have been receiving. I have to tell you, I got my first order on Thursday and a few of the cups were defrosted. Mind you, the box got on the UPS truck around 0930 and did not make it to my house until well after five and I live in Florida! I emailed them, just to give them a “heads up” so that maybe they can add more dry ice to deliveries in Florida, where the current “feels like temp” is hovering over 100 every day.
    I received an email back yesterday, Monday, with an apology and an offer of another box shipped to me Thursday. I have to say that is pretty darn good customer service!
    The products are delicious! I got the 24 cup order and at a little over $6 a cup, totally worth it. I would have to say that 98% of the ingredients I ordered were organic and ready to go in the blender!
    I’m sorry, someone reviewed that the price was too too high. Buddy, you are a fool! By the time you buy the products and prep the products, I have already made my smoothie and got on with my life! Is it pricey compared to a “do it yourself” smoothie, probably. BUT, I have zero spoilage. If I cant get to the fruits or veggies today, I do not have to worry about them getting sketchy in my fridge!
    The only reason I have my first order a 4 star is because of the melted products. I think if just a little bit more dry ice was added, we would have been at a 5 star rating!
    This is one meal subscription, I will keep!
    Thank you Daily Harvest!

  21. | June 28, 2018

    Definitely nothing to beware of with this company. The food is amazing. It’s very easy to skip weeks if you need to, it’s very self explanatory. I’ve been using Daily Harvest for three month and couldn’t be happier. I’ve also referred a few people who love this service as well.

  22. | May 12, 2018

    These smoothies are really good. I use coconut almond milk for mine. This is my second month and I am very pleased with the product.

More user reviews

Leave a review

Your email address will not be published.

* All the prices on this website are subject to change without notice. While we put a great deal of effort into making sure that all the prices are accurate, one or more products may have outdated prices. Please visit the specific product’s official website for exact prices.
Join our mailing list to receive exclusive updates, giveaways and coupon codes directly to your inbox.